fire bricks
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Thread: fire bricks

fire bricks

I am a hobbie welder, new to the practice and wanted to know where I can find fire bricks. I live in florida where the fireplace is a rarety so home depot and lowes don't cary them. The bricks are pretty heavy so I'd rather not order them online.

Re: fire bricks

Are you making a forge or a kiln? I'm not familiar with how fire bricks would be used in welding.

If you're not in a hurry, and don't need more than a few, you might post a "wanted" ad in your local FreeCycle or Craigslist; never know what is there if you don't ask. Otherwise, call some industrial burner, furnace or blacksmithing suppliers; Google can likely find some in your area.

I don't have a welding table yet. I read they're a good base for the metal to lay on instead of concrete

Thanks for your help

If you're looking for a fire resistant concrete like surface, I suggest patio tiles.
    Fire bricks are designed to be used in oven like environments to withstand heat through and through. That makes them weaker than normal brick or concrete, and no more resistant to the extreme heat of welding than plain concrete. A welding table is exposed to hot objects (so you want something that won't burn), but isn't heated itself (unless you're pre and post heating cast iron for welding).

Just be sure to keep the brick or tile dry. If it gets wet, the heat will cause the surface to spall, and chips can get launched at you (shouldn't be dangerous if you're wearing goggles though).

Quote Originally Posted by rlitman View Post
    If you're looking for a fire resistant concrete like surface, I suggest patio tiles.