Welding Rig set-up
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Welding Rig set-up

Hello all,

I am not new to the forum, i have been lurking for probably the last year but never posting, well I graduated and got my certificate in welding here in central texas and am wanting to go out on my own, at this point in my life I am not wanting to weld full-time as i have other trades that i am good at and want to explore my options with. However I simply LOVE welding, before me going to college i had never welded before with that being said I am not a top notch welder but im not bad at all.

My big question to all is what is everyones rig like? I have looked at all the rigs on here and you tube and other forums, but what do yall suggest for a beginner, I have an 99 f250 powerstroke super cab longbed,

What are the pro's and con's of having a welder on back of your truck or putting everything on a trailer? sorry for the novice question and thanks in advance for replyz..........

Re: Welding Rig set-up

If the welder is in a truck then the truck is basicly good for nothing else but welding work and if that truck is down then so is your business. If you have a trailer rig then you can use the truck for anything else that you need it for. And, if the truck is down you can get another vehicle to pull the trailer with and keep working without any interuption. There are exceptions to this theory too...pipeline work, etc.
    Stephen
    Millermatic 251
    Miller Syncrowave 200
    Miller 30A Spoolgun
    Hypertherm Powermax 30
    Etc., etc., etc.............
    Cancer Sucks!