Welding Aluminum with Miller Syncrowave 200
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Welding Aluminum with Miller Syncrowave 200

Hi guys,

First post here. A little back ground and then the question.

My first welding was with act/oxy and coat hangers when I was 22 years old. I still use it for brazing and sweating at times. Eventually I got a Lincoln 225 cracker box for stick and about 16 years ago now a MillerMatic 185 MIG. MIG is about all you need for most automotive work but for some time I have wanted the TIG process and bought a Miller Syncrowave 200.

My first project was stainless and since then a few mild steel things. Since I am a former Chevy mechanic my sons and I build a few hot rods here and there and I have looked forward to being able to fabricate aluminum and stainless parts. My first aluminum project was a toe-in gauge for doing front end alignments. I will just say it works fine for the purpose but the welds are not anything to write home about. I had no trouble with the 1/8” thick material but the main beam is a very thin 1/16” square tube. Welding the thick to the thin was difficult for me but I got it done.

Here is my main question:

I know I need more seat time for starters but I seem to have trouble focusing the arc in A/C at 60hz. It’s not a problem for me on thicker material but an example of what I want to do is welding in a threaded bung in the tank of an aluminum radiator. My machine has high frequency start but that drops out once the arc is established. Do I need high frequency to weld thin gauge aluminum and still have a reasonably sized bead? I am not opposed to selling this machine and getting an inverter machine if I need to. I just don’t know what role the high frequency plays in the results of welding thin aluminum and when it becomes a requirement.

Thanks in advance,

Steve
    To each problem exists a solution...Now think!

Re: Welding Aluminum with Miller Syncrowave 200