300 syncrowave questions
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    N.W. Illinois
    Posts
    26

    300 syncrowave questions

    I am going to look at a pretty old 300 soon. It has the cooler on the bottom, water cooled torch, and all cables. Asking $1000. Anything I should be wary of with this older machine? I will have the chance to fire it up beefore buying, but what else to check out? I believe it to be one of the early syncs due to lack of features on the newer ones, and it does not have the needle gauges on the front like some of the other older models I have seen. Thanks for any suggestions and help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    N.W. Illinois
    Posts
    26

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    Thanks for the reply. I knew I was going to need a 100 amp breaker, saw it is listed for 96 amps on plate. 100 amp may not be enough to do 1/4" aluminum? This is the primary reason for even looking at it. I don't know if I would ever really need to do 1/4, but definately 1/8 to 3/16 aluminum. We don't have 460 at the farm, and the main breaker at the pole is 200, so I would really need to step down a little bit in the shop, currently a 100 amp breaker there. Maybe this welder is just too big for my area? Thanks again for the input.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    N.W. Illinois
    Posts
    26

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    From the pictures he sent me, which I can't post here without being blurry, it is a 300. The back panel states 96 amps @230v. Not trying to discredit what you have said, just going by the camera phone pictures he sent me. I had a feeling it was going to be too big for my shop's electrical system. As I said, I wouldn't be doing much 1/4, and if I did, many times I could get at both sides for better penetration. It is an hour and 1/2 drive, so maybe I will con the wife and boy into going and make a nice day trip out of it. If I can get it for a decent price, maybe I will drag it home anyhow and see what I can do. With all the extras, I should be able to sell it later on for what I have in it (I hope). Thanks again for the help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    N.W. Illinois
    Posts
    26

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    Funny thing about the electric- Suprising we don't have more than 200 amp service. I do remember when the electric was off, and we had to put the pto generator to use. If we had too many things running at one time, we could sure make that 4020 growl. We could be milking and have what was needed on in the house, turn on a silo unloader, and watch the smoke blow from that 4020.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    N.W. Illinois
    Posts
    26

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    Did a little looking on the Miller website. The 300 does need 225 amps at full power (ouch). Miller also states that the Syncro 200 will do 1/4" aluminum, true? I have heard that numbers get stretched once in a while? Should I wait until I can afford a 200 or 250, or should I pursue this 300 on the cheap, and do the best I can with my power supply? I guess I don't understand how the 200 or 250 can do the same job with less power than the 300. I know that an inverter machine is a whole different story. Thanks again for the help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Guerneville Ca
    Posts
    1,765

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Stubbs68 View Post
    I am going to look at a pretty old 300 soon. It has the cooler on the bottom, water cooled torch, and all cables. Asking $1000. Anything I should be wary of with this older machine? I will have the chance to fire it up beefore buying, but what else to check out? I believe it to be one of the early syncs due to lack of features on the newer ones, and it does not have the needle gauges on the front like some of the other older models I have seen. Thanks for any suggestions and help.
    If the cooler is built in to the bottom of the welder (called TIG runner kit) it is the latest newer model.
    It is well worth the $1000. No question about it.
    Many Syncrowaves did not have the (optional) DC guages. Not a big deal, and you can buy them seperately and plug them in if you want.

    The new ones with digital buttons instead of analog DIALS are not as good as far as I am concerned. And those digital push button machines had failures.
    AWS certified welding inspector
    AWS certified welder

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Guerneville Ca
    Posts
    1,765

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    Quote Originally Posted by 7A749 View Post
    If you can, email me a pic of that plate. I want to see it. It's been some time since I have been up close to a 300 & the manuals have been incorrect before. I was also going off what the tech manual said. Very well could be incorrect, unless the pic of the plate was from a different machine. If it truly is a 96 amp input, see if you can get it for less & buy it.

    As far as the S'wave 200 doing 1/4" don't count on it lasting very long if you push it that hard. You'll smoke an air cooled torch at those demands pretty fast too.

    See what the seller will do on the 300 & post it up.
    You can weld 1/4 inch with a Syncrowave 250.
    The question is How large is the weldment and how is it prepared?
    I would get the water cooled torch. If it has the water cooler built into the bottom of it .
    AWS certified welding inspector
    AWS certified welder

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Guerneville Ca
    Posts
    1,765

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    Quote Originally Posted by 7A749 View Post
    I don't know where you got 96 amps from, unless you were referencing an entirely different machine. That sounds more like what an S'wave 250 requires @ 230 VAC. A picture or SN would clarify.

    The Syncrowave 300 requires 225 amps @ 230 VAC, 100 amps @ 460 VAC per operation specs in the tech manual.

    1/4" AL is no fooling around. You'll need a lot more than half the required input power to even think about doing it with this machine. At full required input, it will handle that no problem providing you are using the correct torch size & a cooler.

    Again a serial number or picture would help a lot. I think you may be looking at a different machine all together.
    The Syncrowave 250 requires a 60-70 amp breaker but they will work fine on a 50 amp breaker if you do not exceed 150 amps output.
    I used one for 11 years on a 50 amp breaker. But I did not exceed 150 amps output.
    AWS certified welding inspector
    AWS certified welder

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Guerneville Ca
    Posts
    1,765

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    I do not care about Lady Gaga whoever she is.

    As far as installing optional meters I have done it and I had no problems.
    But I am very skilled metal worker.

    The kits I received were just fine and the wires were long enough etc.,.
    I had to mount the guage too but it was not a problem.

    I guess I won't use that term Plug and Play on this forum anymore.

    I still like the Syncrowave 250 with DIALS. I do not like pecking at buttons like a crow. Especially with welding gloves on.

    I bought a Miller syncrowave 250 that had the first built in bottom mount "TIG RUNNER" water cooling unit brand new.
    It cleaned up all the hoses and eliminated that noisy Bernard water cooling unit.

    My first BRAND NEW Miller XMT 304 had a digital read out partially dissappear only a couple months after I bought it.
    I have had several digital read outs fail. My new microwave at my home had a digital read out fail just after purchasing it.
    They are NOT RELIABLE YET.

    Even two of three gold plated computers in the space shuttle have failed on one of the missions.

    That is just my opinion. I post what I know also from my personal experience.
    I have never had a failure of any of the Syncrowave 250 machines that I have used. All analog.
    I used one Syncrowave 250 for 11 years six hours (actual welding) per day in production welding.

    I just bought a brand new Miller Syncrowave 200 "modern" welding machine
    and I have heard of two problems so far from forum members with that machine
    I am keeping my fingers crossed. If there is a failure and even if Miller covers the repair, I have to load the machine in my truck and drive many miles and spend lots of money on gas and bridge fees to get to the repair facility. Then I have to go back a second time to
    pick up the machine. I do not like failures. So far that has only happened with my first inverter "digital" machine.

    Some people that grew up with computers think it is acceptable to have an electronic failure.
    I do not accept it. I think a machine should be tested a lot BEFORE it is sold to the public.
    And the worst of all is when a company sells a product with "known issues"!!!!

    There are many shops that are not ISO compliant in the USA.
    If it is a large manufacturer exporting products overseas they may need to be ISO compliant.
    And NO.....I do not know all the rules and laws about that.
    Last edited by Donald Branscom; 02-27-2011 at 11:11 AM.
    AWS certified welding inspector
    AWS certified welder

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Guerneville Ca
    Posts
    1,765

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    "Optional readouts/meters require much more than simply "plugging them in" to an existing base model machine. Especially Miller machines such as the S' wave 300. The Shopmaster was just another. The little diagram showing where the meters went is there, not the precision cut hole for them tho."

    Yes...I had to remove the top sheet metal cover first.
    The guages I received attached right to the face plate and the location was even clearly marked. I did have to drill two holes.
    AWS certified welding inspector
    AWS certified welder

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Guerneville Ca
    Posts
    1,765

    Re: 300 syncrowave questions

    My Miller Syncrowave 200 manual says that the machine will draw 54 amps input on 150 amps output AC tig.
    Last edited by Donald Branscom; 02-27-2011 at 11:08 AM.
    AWS certified welding inspector
    AWS certified welder

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement