Stick welding a copper boiler?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Stick welding a copper boiler?

Hi All,
    This is my first post, and I have limited welding experience. Previously I have done a course in stick welding, but have no TIG or MIG experience.

I have a copper coffee machine boiler, and wanted to know if it is possible to weld it using a stick welder. I notice that Cigweld has a special electrode (Bronzecraft AC-DC) for welding copper and copper alloys. Has anyone ever tried?

Also, I am interested in what the weld quality would be like? Strength? The boiler will be run at upto 1.5 Bar pressure. Obviously TIG would be better, but the cost of getting it done for me is similar to a complete boiler.

If it is possible, I will weld and then get the boiler pressure tested professionally.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Re: Stick welding a copper boiler?

Quote Originally Posted by dane5431 View Post
    The boiler will be run at upto 1.5 Bar pressure.
    That's gonna leave a mark.

Seriously, I would not attempt this with a stick welder, even if it was possible (which I doubt) and even if I didn't have "limited welding experience."

On the other hand, do ya feel lucky?

Don't even look at it with a stick welder. In fact, get it to a professional with copper TIG experience before you even have another thought. At best, a newbie welding on a thin copper boiler is going to destroy it.
    Have we all gone mad?

I wouldn't weld it at all. Brazing (or TIG brazing) with Sil Phos would be the best way to fix it. Coffee machine boiler = Small diameter pieces. 1.5 bar is about 23 psi. This isn't going to be thick stuff and it won't take much material at all to hold that pressure with the small diameters involved.

You've heard two good suggestions.
    TIG is the best way, and color match would be the best. Is this polished and on "display"?
    I don't understand why it should be as expensive as a new boiler though.