14 pin wiring
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 14 pin wiring

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,024

    14 pin wiring

    Are the 14 pin plugs on a Powcon and a Miller wired the same.

    Wanting to know if I can run my 30A spool gun on a 300SM

    Thanks Dan D.
    Manipulator Of Metal

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orange, TX
    Posts
    16,607

    Re: 14 pin wiring

    The 30A has a 10-pin unless you're running it off a WC-24 which has the 14-pin but they are not the same from what I see.
    Last edited by duaneb55; 10-15-2015 at 05:35 PM.
    MM200 w/Spoolmatic 1
    Syncrowave 180SD
    Bobcat 225G Plus - LP/NG
    MUTT Suitcase Wirefeeder
    WC-1S/Spoolmatic 1
    HF-251D-1
    PakMaster 100XL
    '68 Red Face Code #6633 project
    Star Jet 21-110

    Save 2nd Base!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: 14 pin wiring

    Yes I am using a WC-24. I forgot to add that.
    Thank you Duane. You are always very helpful

    Dan D.
    Manipulator Of Metal

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,455

    Re: 14 pin wiring

    Miller 14 pin is 20 shell size. Powcon stuff is 14 pin 17 shell size. The 17 shell is common on older Miller automated stuff and some digital readout wire feeder motor connections. If you need a connector, I have some.

    Dunno on the pin location, but I'm pretty sure it's compatible with Miller stuff, at least that's what Arcon told me.

    For Miller stuff pins A and B provide 24 VAC contact closure, pin G is circuit common. As long as the PowCon pins are in the same location, or you can make an adapter, I'm sure it'll work fine.
    Last edited by 7A749; 10-16-2015 at 08:26 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    72

    Re: 14 pin wiring

    I have just done this it was a little tricky but can be done. http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php...remote-pinouts ,digikey has the plug and I have the part number for it at work. So by jumping 8 and 9 puts in in remote mode and jumping/closing 10 and 11 enables/turns welder on, I did this with the gun trigger. It has 16 volt out witch I would not recommend a 24 volt feeder you be better off using a 115v feeder. BTW the sm300 with out perform any welder in my shop burning 1/16 Metal-core and Ultra-core wire. The machine is a beast!
    Last edited by Sgnob; 12-25-2015 at 02:27 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,024

    Re: 14 pin wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by Sgnob View Post
    I have just done this it was a little tricky but can be done. http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php...remote-pinouts ,digikey has the plug and I have the part number for it at work. So by jumping 8 and 9 puts in in remote mode and jumping/closing 10 and 11 enables/turns welder on, I did this with the gun trigger. It has 16 volt out witch I would not recommend a 24 volt feeder you be better off using a 115v feeder. BTW the sm300 with out perform any welder in my shop burning 1/16 Metal-core and Ultra-core wire. The machine is a beast!
    Thanks Sgnob. I will try probably give this a try.

    Dan D.
    Manipulator Of Metal

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Đîńńč˙
    Posts
    1

    14 pin wiring

    I can get the range rover locally for 80 or the king cobra for 70. I would like to try a single pin, but not sure im ready to man up for an HHA. Which of those two is the better sight?
    áĺç ďîäďčńč

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement