Powcon 300SM
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Powcon 300SM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    132

    Powcon 300SM

    Since they dont make Powcons anymore I thought I'd ask do you all think $325 is a decent deal for a working Powcon 300SM without the feeder?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sparks, NV
    Posts
    9,044

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Yes. You can download the manuals from Arcon welding.
    Tiger Sales: AHP Distributor www.tigersalesco.com
    AHP200x; AHP 160ST; MM350P, Spoolmatic 30A; Everlast PowerTig 185; ESAB 875 plasma;Evo 355. OA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sparks, NV
    Posts
    9,044

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    I have owned a couple, even had I one of the rare ones with a 6010 port. They make a bunch of squealing noise when welding, That's normal
    Tiger Sales: AHP Distributor www.tigersalesco.com
    AHP200x; AHP 160ST; MM350P, Spoolmatic 30A; Everlast PowerTig 185; ESAB 875 plasma;Evo 355. OA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    403

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    I think that is a good price and would not hesitate to drop $325 on a working 300SM.
    Now it seems all I own are ESAB products, a lonely Hypertherm 85 and couple of Miller XMT's.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    whitewater, mt.
    Posts
    905

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Yep! it is.
    Arcon Workhorse 300MS
    Powcon 400SMT
    Powcon SM400 x 2
    Powcon SM300
    1968 SA200 Redface
    1978 SA250 Diesel
    Miller Super 32P Feeder
    Pre 1927 American 14" High Duty Lathe
    K&T Milwaukee 2H Horizontal Mill

    Bryan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    132

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Thanks guys. One more question on the Powcon 300SM. What type of wire feeder can be run on one of these? Can you run a Miller 12vs or a Lincoln LN 25 off this thing?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sparks, NV
    Posts
    9,044

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Quote Originally Posted by Thegreatweldini View Post
    Thanks guys. One more question on the Powcon 300SM. What type of wire feeder can be run on one of these? Can you run a Miller 12vs or a Lincoln LN 25 off this thing?
    Yep, as suitcases get their power from the work clamp and weld cable to the suitcase, you just set it to CV mode and go. You don't need a voltage sensing feeder either. just about any 115 vac stationary wire feeder can be wired up to this machine. Check with Steve (7a749) if you are looking for a feeder, I think he had a few available
    Name:  uploadfromtaptalk1447269344742.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  45.7 KB
    Tiger Sales: AHP Distributor www.tigersalesco.com
    AHP200x; AHP 160ST; MM350P, Spoolmatic 30A; Everlast PowerTig 185; ESAB 875 plasma;Evo 355. OA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    132

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Quote Originally Posted by soutthpaw View Post
    Yep, as suitcases get their power from the work clamp and weld cable to the suitcase, you just set it to CV mode and go. You don't need a voltage sensing feeder either. just about any 115 vac stationary wire feeder can be wired up to this machine. Check with Steve (7a749) if you are looking for a feeder, I think he had a few available
    Name:  uploadfromtaptalk1447269344742.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  45.7 KB
    I bought two Powcons for $500. One is the 300ST and the other is the 300SM. I was tinkering with the SM today and hooked up my LN-25. I cant seem to make it weld right, it acts like it gets no penetration or something. There is no switch for CV as you say it's just a switch for SMAW and GMAW I tried both and I'm running flux core on it. It just doesn't weld right. I don't know much about MIG to start with.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sparks, NV
    Posts
    9,044

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Put it on GMAW (short circuit) to start. You will be setting the volts. For flux core, the work clamp needs to go in the + terminal. - goes to feeder.
    Tiger Sales: AHP Distributor www.tigersalesco.com
    AHP200x; AHP 160ST; MM350P, Spoolmatic 30A; Everlast PowerTig 185; ESAB 875 plasma;Evo 355. OA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    132

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    THX, Southpaw, I got it going right. This thing is the dream machine. Now I'm wondering what I even need a CST 280 for?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,327

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    GMAW = Gas metal arc welding =MIG Metal inert gas
    SMAW = shielded metal arc welding = stick.

    Takes a while to learn all the short hand and there is quite a few.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    132

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Hey Southpaw or anyone else with the answer. I'm now fiddling with my 300ST (tig unit). I've just discovered when the arc start/gas control switch is placed in the GTAW position I get nothing. No arc, no gas solenoid functioning, nothing. If I leave it in the SMAW position (with leads swapped to DCEN just the same of course) and not route the gas line through the unit just straight to the rig It tigs all day long great. It's just the internals of the GTAW are not working when switched. Not a necessity to tig but if I can fix it on the cheap I am. Bad switch maybe?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sparks, NV
    Posts
    9,044

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    Quote Originally Posted by Thegreatweldini View Post
    Hey Southpaw or anyone else with the answer. I'm now fiddling with my 300ST (tig unit). I've just discovered when the arc start/gas control switch is placed in the GTAW position I get nothing. No arc, no gas solenoid functioning, nothing. If I leave it in the SMAW position (with leads swapped to DCEN just the same of course) and not route the gas line through the unit just straight to the rig It tigs all day long great. It's just the internals of the GTAW are not working when switched. Not a necessity to tig but if I can fix it on the cheap I am. Bad switch maybe?
    I never used mine for TIG. MIG and stick is all I ran off them. The is a jumper on 2 pins in the remote plug to activate the contractor. You might need that to activate that. Never had the ST only machine either. Give the guys at Arcon welding a call. They probably can answer your question.
    Tiger Sales: AHP Distributor www.tigersalesco.com
    AHP200x; AHP 160ST; MM350P, Spoolmatic 30A; Everlast PowerTig 185; ESAB 875 plasma;Evo 355. OA

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    132

    Re: Powcon 300SM

    @Southpaw
    Thanks dude.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement