taking a stick welding cert test tomorrow, 12 gauge galv. steel, 7018..
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

taking a stick welding cert test tomorrow, 12 gauge galv. steel, 7018..

I am a newly employed welder for a construction company, d1.1 certified 4g . They want to certify me in d1.3 also so I can weld 12 gauge galvanized steel studs and thinner stuff also (7018 , DC stick)

I have 0 experience with this. My boss hasnt really informed me on what process to use, what i will be tested on , or anything. I had a very very short time to orient myself with the machine (miller bobcat) , also I am not used to welding on a genset machine at all, I have only a few hours in my life using them.

Tomorrow at 8am I take my certification test. lol.

any tips? I think I should be using DCEN since this is thinner stuff, 3/32'nds rod by the way. I have the 'course' amperage set to low , 40-100 amps, and the 'fine' setting set about 7 .. so Im guessing im around 70 amps. I really have no idea what the test is going to be, if its going to be 1F or 6G , or anywhere in between I have gotten 0 info on this. My boss is not a welder and knows really nothing about the test.

sorry long post, cliffnotes:

should i be using DCEN or DCEP on 12 gauge (some of it is doubled up , so , 2 layers of 12 gauge)

when doing verticle, should i be going downhill or up ... im so used to doing 6010 DCEP always up up up, never down.. im not sure what is correct here.

also i dont know why the F we arent using MIG for this application. makes no sense to me.
    Last edited by AJM; 07-07-2011 at 05:54 PM.

Re: taking a stick welding cert test tomorrow, 12 gauge galv. steel, 7018..

Calm DOWN !

Use the same procedure type as you used on the D1.1 test changing the amps and electrode size.

3/32 7018 at 60-90 amps just enough amps to keep the stick burning. If you can get thinner electrodes great just do the same lower amps just enough to keep it going.

DCEP