Esab Rebel 215 owners - Page 5
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 101 to 112 of 112
  1. #101
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    156

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Quote Originally Posted by weldinON View Post
    I have used the 215ic on a 115V, 15A circuit with 100' extension cord. It worked, but had to be kept around 80A. Maybe just anecdotal.
    Do you have anything else running on the circuit?
    No I even checked to make sure. It welded on the same plug just fine when I plugged it directly into the wall. Even blew my 20 amp breaker trying to stick welded at 120 amps.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jawslandshark View Post
    Here is the deal on extension cords, most of the stuff you can buy pre-made is pretty cheap copper/copper clad, poorly insulated and not up to par, even the ends suck. I run my Rebels on extension cords I made from 10guage SOOW or SJOOW with good industrial connectors, for 220v my cords are 6 and 8 guage. I have run 200 feet from my generators on my cords with no issues. You can get all this stuff at Lowes or HD, even order on Amazon. It costs a little more but think you will be happy and fix the issue.
    Ill try a different cord and see if that alleviates it. If it doesn't I may have to return the machine. I bought it for the being able to run it on 110v on job sites I can't reach with my leads or 100' 220v extension cord.

    Quote Originally Posted by n0logic View Post
    Try this when wanting to run a long cord http://www.paigewire.com/pumpWireCal...ookieSupport=1 .
    Good link. Thank you. It's saying 8AWG for 100'
    Lone Star Mobile Welding, LLC

    2006 Ram 3500
    Lincoln Ranger 250GXT
    Hypertherm 30 Air
    K2000 CAG
    ESAB Rebel 215ic
    Milwaukee mag drill
    Dewalt dry cut saw
    Milwaukee metal cutting circular saw
    Milwaukee M18 Fuel
    Chisholm Lead Reels

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    I calculated at max that machine draws 37.5 amps at 120 volts . Most 120v plugs in use are 15 amp ones rarely see an actual 20 amp plug installed anywhere . That would put you limited to about 40% power max on a normal 120v plug .

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Amps = 1000 x KVA / Volts At 120v the 215 is rated at 4.5 KVA .

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    156

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Quote Originally Posted by n0logic View Post
    I calculated at max that machine draws 37.5 amps at 120 volts . Most 120v plugs in use are 15 amp ones rarely see an actual 20 amp plug installed anywhere . That would put you limited to about 40% power max on a normal 120v plug .
    40%? I don't know about all that. It limited me to 130 amps stick welding, I was welding with 120 amps for a solid minute before the breaker popped. That would mean that you are actually limited to 52 amps...
    Lone Star Mobile Welding, LLC

    2006 Ram 3500
    Lincoln Ranger 250GXT
    Hypertherm 30 Air
    K2000 CAG
    ESAB Rebel 215ic
    Milwaukee mag drill
    Dewalt dry cut saw
    Milwaukee metal cutting circular saw
    Milwaukee M18 Fuel
    Chisholm Lead Reels

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    35

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Yes you can always do short welds at higher than rated amps until the copper heats up . I was calculating safe continous use . I have ran a tombstone at 200 amps off a 30 amp breaker for very short weld periods with no trouble but if your building a 60 ft I beam out of flats it's going to be a long month .

  6. #106
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    39

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Well N2 Welding, I am now on my 4th Machine. My 3rd machine (like yours) gave me little trouble aside from the occasional error and screen freeze that would surface when I plugged it into certain receptacles, but a couple of weeks ago I was doing a Code Structural job running on 220V and 1/8" Lo-Hy and the machine would fizzle out and the display would read my last amperage but only 6 volts.. Lucky for me ESAB had sent me a test unit to try out with a custom program to see if it would eliminate my (occasional) issue with my 3rd. machine. I did the cord swap and finished the next day without a hitch. I notified ESAB that I will be sending (my 3rd.) machine back and so far I've used the Test machine (now my 4th machine) to weld just under 2000 (yes 2k) 1/2" spot welds with .030 316L, tri-Mix and my 25' (tweco) gun I finely got a chance to use, spent about 4 hours Tig welding and about 2 hours worth of 6010/ 7018 pipe welds and so far so good.. Just an Update.. How's your 3rd. machine holding up..?
    Rig Welder

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    158

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Quote Originally Posted by the_croz View Post
    Well N2 Welding, I am now on my 4th Machine. My 3rd machine (like yours) gave me little trouble aside from the occasional error and screen freeze that would surface when I plugged it into certain receptacles, but a couple of weeks ago I was doing a Code Structural job running on 220V and 1/8" Lo-Hy and the machine would fizzle out and the display would read my last amperage but only 6 volts.. Lucky for me ESAB had sent me a test unit to try out with a custom program to see if it would eliminate my (occasional) issue with my 3rd. machine. I did the cord swap and finished the next day without a hitch. I notified ESAB that I will be sending (my 3rd.) machine back and so far I've used the Test machine (now my 4th machine) to weld just under 2000 (yes 2k) 1/2" spot welds with .030 316L, tri-Mix and my 25' (tweco) gun I finely got a chance to use, spent about 4 hours Tig welding and about 2 hours worth of 6010/ 7018 pipe welds and so far so good.. Just an Update.. How's your 3rd. machine holding up..?
    What a Great Incentive to buy a Rebel. Sadly the repair centers are full of them. Can't fix them, Can't get parts. Just keep sending them back. Seldom seen in the showrooms anymore.

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    383

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Quote Originally Posted by the_croz View Post
    Well N2 Welding, I am now on my 4th Machine. My 3rd machine (like yours) gave me little trouble aside from the occasional error and screen freeze that would surface when I plugged it into certain receptacles, but a couple of weeks ago I was doing a Code Structural job running on 220V and 1/8" Lo-Hy and the machine would fizzle out and the display would read my last amperage but only 6 volts.. Lucky for me ESAB had sent me a test unit to try out with a custom program to see if it would eliminate my (occasional) issue with my 3rd. machine. I did the cord swap and finished the next day without a hitch. I notified ESAB that I will be sending (my 3rd.) machine back and so far I've used the Test machine (now my 4th machine) to weld just under 2000 (yes 2k) 1/2" spot welds with .030 316L, tri-Mix and my 25' (tweco) gun I finely got a chance to use, spent about 4 hours Tig welding and about 2 hours worth of 6010/ 7018 pipe welds and so far so good.. Just an Update.. How's your 3rd. machine holding up..?
    Well except for the occasional lockup and error code and some funky display readings at times the 3rd 215 keeps going strong. My 235 has developed a glitch that when you pull the trigger if feeds for a second stops and burns the wire into the tip, I thought that was a gun issue at first but have ruled that out, it only happens right after I change settings in SMIG on material thickness. I am hoping ESAB might have a firmware upgrade for these in the near future that I can fix some of these little issues, I need to get ahold of them soon.
    Now it seems all I own are ESAB products, a lonely Hypertherm 85 and couple of Miller XMT's.

  9. #109
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    39

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    I ran my EMP215 at 475 IPM (wide open) at I think 27 volts with .045 Flux Core (just as a test) and it ran it just fine. Didn't trip. I have a Multimatic 200 that runs real good but haven't committed to using it in the field. It doesn't run 6010 well at all, not like the Rebel does and I don't want to retool to those whimpy connectors and have to buy another CK Worldwide Track remote and 25' Tig lead. The wife says to get something else but the Rebel is the only unit out there that will run "ALL" processes flawlessly (when they work) ESAB once sent me a test unit and it wouldn't even boot up.. I'll stay with them for a while longer but this is getting OLD...
    Rig Welder

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    469

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    You may have arc fault circuit breakers, which are designed to trip when they detect certain types of arcs occurring in a circuit. These will often interpret the welding arc as such, and trip.
    -Ruark
    Lincoln 3200HD
    Hobart Stickmate LX235
    TWECO Fabricator 211i

  11. #111
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    156

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    I haven't revisited trying to weld with it on 110v yet, been strictly 220v on a 100' 10/3 cord. No problems at all. Mostly mig, with a little 6010/7018 mixed in. Ran it down low, and it's been running at full power the past month on some heavy wall structural stuff. Great machine. No complaint out of me. Thinking about picking up a 235 also.

    Not sure what's going on with your 4 machines. Very odd.
    Lone Star Mobile Welding, LLC

    2006 Ram 3500
    Lincoln Ranger 250GXT
    Hypertherm 30 Air
    K2000 CAG
    ESAB Rebel 215ic
    Milwaukee mag drill
    Dewalt dry cut saw
    Milwaukee metal cutting circular saw
    Milwaukee M18 Fuel
    Chisholm Lead Reels

  12. #112
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    3,211

    Re: Esab Rebel 215 owners

    Quote Originally Posted by the_croz View Post
    I ran my EMP215 at 475 IPM (wide open) at I think 27 volts with .045 Flux Core (just as a test) and it ran it just fine.
    I have been running .035 dual shield flux for a minute and run it wide open. My machine whide open will only run 275 imp and 25.5v maxed out. I am wondering if the newer machine have different voltages or do you have a tweeked firmware in your machine?

    With regards to problems. The only issues I have noticed were with the factroy 180 mig gun that comes with the machine and wire feed speed issues. I am using a 15' medium duty Velocity gun now and it works flawless. With regards to wire feed speed. when I run the machine maxed out in manual mig mode at 475 ipm 25.5 volts and if I am using the machine for the first time that day I have to dial the imp speed down pull the trigger and then dial the speed back up to 475 other wise the feed speed won't be correct and it will lug down and run a lot slower than what it is set too. Wierd anomaly for sure. Once I dial it down and back up it runs perfect for the remainder of the day.
    Last edited by N2 Welding; 08-27-2017 at 01:30 PM.
    '65 Lincoln Idealarc 250 AC/DC
    ESAB REBEL EMP 215ic
    L-tec PCM-VPi 40A plasma
    Victor Performer O/A
    Lincoln Viking 4C 3350

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement