Custom Aluminum Truck Bed
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Custom Aluminum Truck Bed

Hey guys,

I’m new to Welding Web but it looks like a good resource. I just wanted to share my most current project.

As a little backstory, my wife and I are planning to drive to Argentina from Oregon (I know, wrong forum..) in my Chevy truck with a small, lightweight pickup camper.

My truck is a regular cab, long bed and I really like the size/weight of it. The only issue, is how much space the camper wastes while sitting in the bed of the truck. There is a lot of dead space in the front of the bed, under the camper and ahead of the wheel wells. There’s also a lot of space behind the wheel wells and just below the camper sides.

On top of that, I’ve always had a nice crossbox in the back for all my tools and recovery gear, plus a little extra storage for luggage or whatever if th cab fills up with people or stuff. Now that I’ve got the camper, I sold the crossbox because I don’t want to load/unload it evertime I use the camper.

Besides the wasted space with the camper loaded, there seems to be tons of wasted space in the bedsides themselves. Huge areas between the inner and outer walls.

A simple flatbed, with boxes mounted above and below the bed would help me gain easily accessible storage, but I run 35” tires with only 2” of lift, so it would have to sit pretty high off the frame to make sure I had all the tire clearance I need during full articulation, especially with the added weight of the camper. I didn’t want the higher center of gravity and higher load floor that would come with this option.