welder powered from breaker?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    welder powered from breaker?

    Ive got a question and need some help. ive got a lincoln 225ac and dont have a 230 volt hookup anywhere in the garage but ive got a recepticle coming off of my breaker box that i use to plug the generator into when the power goes out to power the houuse. is it possible to use that as a power source to run my welder?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    ct.
    Posts
    441

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    What was that recepticle installed for?
    Is it going through a generator transfer switch?
    What size breakers is it connected to?
    Miller a/c-d/c Thunderbolt XL
    Millermatic 180
    ESAB o/a
    Vintage-
    -South Bend 9in. lathe
    - South Bend 7in. shaper
    -Craftsman power hacksaw
    - FibreMetal 710

  3. #3

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    coming off the breaker box i got two 20 amp breakers tied together that runs to a recepticle where i plug a 230 volt extension cord into off of my generator for when the power goes out. when the power goes i flip the main and switch the generator breakers and then back feed power into the house. so i can i flip the 2 generator breakers on and plug my welder in and i should be fine rite?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    minnesota
    Posts
    1,208

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    If you have the space why not just add a plug would cost less than 50 bucks and take 15 min than you are safe. 20 amps isnt much for a welder. I assume you are using 2 single pole breakers to achive 230 volt so you only get 20 amps not 40.
    Millermatic 252
    millermatic 175
    miller 300 Thunderbolt
    lincoln ranger 250
    smith torches
    lots of bfh's
    If it dont fit get a bigger hammer

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    708

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    Are you saying you have a breaker box in the garage? If so, just add another breaker.

    If the breaker box is on the other side of the house, it is possible to run conduit around the outside of the house to your garage. Not the prettiest of solutions, but not too bad either.

    Some welders you can get away with less than advertised current capability. Whether you can or not is up in the air. Check the owner's manual and see what is recommended. If it says something like 30 Amps, well, you are probably close enough. Maybe pop the breaker if you have the wire speed turned up to high for you given heat range.

    BTW, when I got around to re-wiring, I put in two 50 Amp circuits and replace the 25 Amp plug on my air compressor with a 50 Amp one. So now I can run any two devices. The air compressor is my first line of defense if I just happened to start a small fire.... Two completely separate circuits.

    As for outlets, Lowes has them in stock in their electrical isle. If you don't have enough room in the breaker box, you can double up some of the breakers (two 15 amp side by side in one slot) - at least in most areas in the US. Lowes and Home Depot also have charts that dictate minimum wire sizes. Keep in mind that these wire sizes are typically for runs under 100ft (or sometimes even 50ft).

    Oh, and I think just about every hobbyist here used the dryer plug in the past. Typically 30 Amps circuits
    Con Fuse!
    Miller Dynasty 350
    Millermatic 350P
    -Spoolmatic 30A

    Miller Multimatic 200
    Hypertherm PowerMax 1000G3
    Miller Maxstar 200DX

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    ct.
    Posts
    441

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    Is your machine a tombstone,drawing approx.45 amps?
    I used to run my first Tbolt(a.c. only) off a dryer outlet (30 amps) Never tripped breaker.
    But I'm thinking an ac225 will trip 20 amp breakers even when welding at fairly low currents.
    Miller a/c-d/c Thunderbolt XL
    Millermatic 180
    ESAB o/a
    Vintage-
    -South Bend 9in. lathe
    - South Bend 7in. shaper
    -Craftsman power hacksaw
    - FibreMetal 710

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Long Island, Socialist Republic of NY
    Posts
    2,890

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    A tombstone will blow at 30 amp breaker. At least mine did, but that was on DCEP at 110 amps. I got around 5 seconds of arc time each time.
    TA Arcmaster 300
    CM3
    XMT 304
    S22P12 suitcase feeder
    X-Treme 12VS
    Optima pulser
    TA161S
    Maxstar 150STL
    Hypertherm PM45
    OP setup
    Stihl 020AVP, 039, 066 Magnum

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Mullinville Kansas
    Posts
    129

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    I did the same thing i plug my welder in but it flipped a 20 amp breaker than we tried a 30 and you could weld up to 90 amps so we put in a 50 amp and now i can go allthe way up to 225 onmy welder your safe but if anything goes wrong im not taking any responsibility i just no it worked for me
    On the 8th day God said I need a caretaker so God made a farmer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bossier Parish La.
    Posts
    2,938

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    Quote Originally Posted by 93chevy View Post
    coming off the breaker box i got two 20 amp breakers tied together that runs to a recepticle where i plug a 230 volt extension cord into off of my generator for when the power goes out. when the power goes i flip the main and switch the generator breakers and then back feed power into the house. so i can i flip the 2 generator breakers on and plug my welder in and i should be fine rite?
    With this set up your taking a BIG CHANCE with the lives of the linemen trying to restore power back up the line from you. If the power jumps back over your main switch you are back feeding power thru the transformer into the lines that the linemen may believe to be "dead". This is not the approved way of connecting your generator to power your house. You may get away with it for awhile, but if something goes wrong you are possibly going to kill someone that is trying to restore your power. Then the utility company's lawyers and the man's family's lawyers are going to have a field day with your a$$. You really should have a buss transfer switch installed for this purpose to remain safe and LEGAL. Just the main disconnect switch on your breaker panel is not enough to meet NEC requirements for generator power hook ups. As many times as I have seen members on here rant about liability issues with someone building a trailer with a 120V MIG, I'm surprised no one has caught this and said something yet. You need to get the proper connection for your generator to panel, or use extension cords ONLY while running on the genset.
    As far as running your welder from this set up, it should work just fine if the breaker and wiring is sized sufficiently for your machine's needs.
    Last edited by Bistineau; 11-28-2011 at 01:28 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    eastern u.s.
    Posts
    582

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    I've visited this thread a couple times so far and if you know me you know I just can't keep my mouth shut.

    1st thing. 220 amps at 27 volts is 6,000 watts. On a 220 breaker thats 27 amps draw. I didn't make this up, thats simple math. lol. For a 30 amp breaker at 220 volts you need a min of 10ga wire, and if the run is very long I'd use at least 8ga wire. Lowes or Carter Lumber has such wire and its pretty much available everyday I think.

    Now for the good stuff...... I think.

    Hooking up a portable generator to a fuse box with the method you describe isn't right man. It's so un-right you could go to jail for a long time because of it. Say the power is off and while working on the lines a lineman gets electrocuted because of power from a portable generator on the system. The foreman goes looking for who has lights on and he finds you...... At the same time he finds you ain't hooked up legit...... He says, "you killed my lineman!!!!!!". How can you defend that you didn't? You can't. You cannot confirm that you cannot hook up in such a way that you could of killed that lineman because it would only take you forgetting for an instant that you didn't switch off the main breaker before you powered on your generator. Yes, you could of killed him and if you did then thats manslaughter and you go away for a long long time. Also the power to your house gets shut off because it says in the book, "we can discontinue service if we find you have connected a generator in an unauthorized fashion". (?) Get my drift???? Yes, you are stupid and you do need to come to your senses and do it right man. It costs yes, but it's worth every penny if you don't kill anyone and you don't go to jail........

    What are you saving???? In my case (where I'm at and what I know.... $300.00 and an electrical inspection that cost me $75.00. So, $375.00 and a little time and effort.... What am I saying? A 200amp manual transfer switch and a decetated remote generator plug in.

    What else can I say... Nothing.

    Good luck and may good luck be with you. lol
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by slowhand; 11-28-2011 at 09:31 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    minnesota
    Posts
    1,208

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    You dont even have to kill them have known a couple that have been knocked out one hung by rhe scare strap for about an hour till he came to. Have been told that if they find someone back feeding they will pull the fuse at the road and than wait till its "safe" for them to work on your stuff aka when they arfe darn good and ready.
    Millermatic 252
    millermatic 175
    miller 300 Thunderbolt
    lincoln ranger 250
    smith torches
    lots of bfh's
    If it dont fit get a bigger hammer

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bossier Parish La.
    Posts
    2,938

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    Quote Originally Posted by slowhand View Post
    I've visited this thread a couple times so far and if you know me you know I just can't keep my mouth shut.

    1st thing. 220 amps at 27 volts is 6,000 watts. On a 220 breaker thats 27 amps draw. I didn't make this up, thats simple math. lol. For a 30 amp breaker at 220 volts you need a min of 10ga wire, and if the run is very long I'd use at least 8ga wire. Lowes or Carter Lumber has such wire and its pretty much available everyday I think.

    Now for the good stuff...... I think.

    Hooking up a portable generator to a fuse box with the method you describe isn't right man. It's so un-right you could go to jail for a long time because of it. Say the power is off and while working on the lines a lineman gets electrocuted because of power from a portable generator on the system. The foreman goes looking for who has lights on and he finds you...... At the same time he finds you ain't hooked up legit...... He says, "you killed my lineman!!!!!!". How can you defend that you didn't? You can't. You cannot confirm that you cannot hook up in such a way that you could of killed that lineman because it would only take you forgetting for an instant that you didn't switch off the main breaker before you powered on your generator. Yes, you could of killed him and if you did then thats manslaughter and you go away for a long long time. Also the power to your house gets shut off because it says in the book, "we can discontinue service if we find you have connected a generator in an unauthorized fashion". (?) Get my drift???? Yes, you are stupid and you do need to come to your senses and do it right man. It costs yes, but it's worth every penny if you don't kill anyone and you don't go to jail........

    What are you saving???? In my case (where I'm at and what I know.... $300.00 and an electrical inspection that cost me $75.00. So, $375.00 and a little time and effort.... What am I saying? A 200amp manual transfer switch and a decetated remote generator plug in.

    What else can I say... Nothing.

    Good luck and may good luck be with you. lol
    THANK YOU for saying that. That is exactly the point I was making. It's not worth "Going Cheap" to save a few buck$ to hook up your genset for occassional use, when it could cost SOMEONE ELSE their LIFE. Then what's it going to cost you? Way more than the proper transfer switch would have cost to begin with. Get the right set up before you use the genset to power the house again, unless you use extension cords only.
    Other than that hook up the welder to it and try it. Like I said before it should work just fine if the wiring and amps on the breaker are enough for your machine. But as Lanse said about his rig you may need to increase breaker capacity to get full power on your welder. Just don't go beyond wire capacity without upgrading it, too. Or try running the welder off the generator if the above fails, it should have the power to run it even if it's not full power.
    Last edited by Bistineau; 11-28-2011 at 09:58 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    ct.
    Posts
    441

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    Several people have told me that their generators came with a cord with a plug on either end.
    One to plug into the generator and one that goes into a dryer recepticle.
    Not only can the user accidently energize the grid,but if the cord is plugged into the generator
    and not plugged into the dryer recepticle,they have live male plug prongs.
    To me, this is just asking for trouble.But it now seems to be a fairly common way
    of connecting a generator.
    Miller a/c-d/c Thunderbolt XL
    Millermatic 180
    ESAB o/a
    Vintage-
    -South Bend 9in. lathe
    - South Bend 7in. shaper
    -Craftsman power hacksaw
    - FibreMetal 710

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    minnesota
    Posts
    1,208

    Re: welder powered from breaker?

    Usually the cord is to pulg into your transfor switch so your portable gen set isn't sitting outside waiting for someone to make it more portable. back feeding is not a good idea
    Millermatic 252
    millermatic 175
    miller 300 Thunderbolt
    lincoln ranger 250
    smith torches
    lots of bfh's
    If it dont fit get a bigger hammer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement