AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    88

    AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    I just got a new AHP Alpha TIG 200x, 2016 version. The pulse dial does not reflect the actual pulse rate which kinda sucks. If I want 1pps, I have to turn the dial to 4pps. 1pps on the dial actually yields something like 1 pulse every 3 seconds or something. I can't tell what it's doing on the high setting, as it quickly gets too fast to count. Had anybody else experienced this?
    In case it's related to my above post:
    AHP Alpha TIG 200x (2016)
    Eastwood MIG 175
    Eastwood Versa-Cut 40 Plasma Cutter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,424

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Yes I have, but then its only a 800 dollar welder. You can adjust the knob to try and make it read better.
    www.georgesplasmacuttershop.com

    Tec.Mo. Wholesale Distributor and Dealer
    Consumables for the PT and IPT torch's.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    1,189

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    I don't think the box states any where that "This is a $800 welder so don't expect it to work like should".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    3,384

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Does it have a switch for "low range" and "high range" pulse welding?
    First person on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling signature!

    HTP Invertig221 D.V. Water-cooled
    Millermatic 211 Inverter MIG w/ Spoolmate 150
    Eastwood 40A Plasma cutter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Yeah,

    Maybe if you just pull the knob off, and pop it back on a couple of degrees forward, all will be as well as expected, and nothing to be too worried about.
    Peace to you all,
    Christian Livingstone

    www.youtube.com/newjerusalemtimes

    Everlast 210EXT AC/DC (2015)
    CAT250D 200 amp DC TIG/Stick/Plasma

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    875

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Welcome to the world of you get what you pay for.
    Millermatic 211
    Miller Syncrowave 350lx with cooler and tigrunner
    Thermal Dynamics cutmaster 81
    1955 National Cylinder Gas O/A setup with original patina

  7. #7

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Quote Originally Posted by That Guy There View Post
    Welcome to the world of you get what you pay for.
    Yes...and it appears over a thousand owners will agree with this statement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Ventura County, CA.
    Posts
    63

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    I see a pulse switch with three postions, "off" "high" "low"
    off=off
    low=0-10
    high=10-200

    so you are saying in the "low" position the knob is not close to accurate? what are you trying to weld with this setting?
    If you want to learn no one can stop you.

    Hobart Handler 175 / AHP AlphaTig 200X V4 / HF 95136 Plasma

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    44

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    go somewhere else, I like my AHP welder


    Charl

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Yeah,

    The AHP AlphaTIG, with its thousands of satisfied customers, and rightly so, as it has no competition at around $730, delivered, in its full-featured 200 amp AC/DC TIG unit class, is undoubtedly like getting almost "twice as much as you pay for."

    Yes, I know, it was made by fellow human beings on planet Earth who undoubtedly don't speak much English or wave a red, white, and blue piece of cloth.
    Peace to you all,
    Christian Livingstone

    www.youtube.com/newjerusalemtimes

    Everlast 210EXT AC/DC (2015)
    CAT250D 200 amp DC TIG/Stick/Plasma

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,424

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    I like my AHP, but if you want something with more accuracy spend the money and buy a HTP 221 or Miller Dynasty.
    www.georgesplasmacuttershop.com

    Tec.Mo. Wholesale Distributor and Dealer
    Consumables for the PT and IPT torch's.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Yeah,

    Choices are good!

    Quote Originally Posted by mechanic416 View Post
    I like my AHP, but if you want something with more accuracy spend the money and buy a HTP 221 or Miller Dynasty.
    Peace to you all,
    Christian Livingstone

    www.youtube.com/newjerusalemtimes

    Everlast 210EXT AC/DC (2015)
    CAT250D 200 amp DC TIG/Stick/Plasma

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SoCal-LA
    Posts
    8,176

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Quote Originally Posted by C. Livingstone View Post
    Yeah,

    The AHP AlphaTIG, with its thousands of satisfied customers, and rightly so, as it has no competition at around $730, delivered, in its full-featured 200 amp AC/DC TIG unit class, is undoubtedly like getting almost "twice as much as you pay for."

    Yes, I know, it was made by fellow human beings on planet Earth who undoubtedly don't speak much English or wave a red, white, and blue piece of cloth.
    I am sure AHP would be more than willing to honor a repair or replacement to satisfy the customer. Yes, shyt happens.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    Miller Dynasty700DX, Dynasty350DX 2ea., Dynasty200DX, ThermalArc 400 GTSW, LincolnSW200 2ea., MillerMatic350P, MillerMatic200 with spoolgun, MKCobraMig260, Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm 1250

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1,187

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Yeah,

    Shovelon, I just ordered some of those Diamond Ground Tri-Mix electrodes. I'm a little excited to try them.
    Peace to you all,
    Christian Livingstone

    www.youtube.com/newjerusalemtimes

    Everlast 210EXT AC/DC (2015)
    CAT250D 200 amp DC TIG/Stick/Plasma

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    875

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Quote Originally Posted by xmmancharl View Post
    go somewhere else, I like my AHP welder


    Charl
    Where do you want us to go? This is weldingweb the biggest welding forum on the Internet. Best place to pass on information about the welder you love .
    Millermatic 211
    Miller Syncrowave 350lx with cooler and tigrunner
    Thermal Dynamics cutmaster 81
    1955 National Cylinder Gas O/A setup with original patina

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SoCal-LA
    Posts
    8,176

    Re: AHP pulse inaccurate. Anyone else experience this?

    Quote Originally Posted by C. Livingstone View Post
    Yeah,

    Shovelon, I just ordered some of those Diamond Ground Tri-Mix electrodes. I'm a little excited to try them.
    Can't beat them for alum. They just keep going.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    Miller Dynasty700DX, Dynasty350DX 2ea., Dynasty200DX, ThermalArc 400 GTSW, LincolnSW200 2ea., MillerMatic350P, MillerMatic200 with spoolgun, MKCobraMig260, Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm 1250

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement