Miller Challenger 172
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Miller Challenger 172

I picked up a Miller Challenger 172 MIG machine. I am new to the MIG process altogether but find that I like it.

I think this machine is fairly old but it looks as good as new, except the previous owner kept the gun lead wrapped too tightly and abused the gun. I was under the impression that it was a M-10 gun, however everything on this gun is different except for the tips. After visiting several LWS, I left realizing that I had the M-10A gun, put out by miller before the M-10 came along.

After seeing that I liked the machine, I bought a small fortune in consumables and two liners off of Ebay for an M-10 gun. I have not pulled the liner out of mine to see if the one I purchased would work, but at the LWS in their parts books, they were different p/n, so i am guessing the M-10 liners will not work. Now my question is, if I purchased a new M-10 gun, will it be plug-and-play with my machine? Also, what are the differences between the M-10 and the new M-100 guns?
    Miller Bobcat 225
    Miller Diversion 180 - sold searching for a Dynasty
    Hobart Tigmate
    Millermatic Challenger 172

Re: Miller Challenger 172

Hey gc,
    I have a Challenger 172......absolutely superb MIG unit & has never failed me thru some brutal production runs. I love mine.......best $175 I ever spent(used). Mine has the 10A gun which I believe was the standard gun assem. furnished. I also have a spare GA17C that I believe will also work...haven't tried it yet. I would suggest to get the 10A replacement if you want to replace it. Probably find one on E-Bay quite reasonable as I got the 17C there for $50 & it was new.

Denny
    Complete Welding/Machine/Fab. Shop
    Mobile Unit
    Finally retired

*Moderator*

"A man's word is his honor...without honor there is nothing."
    "Words are like bullets.... Once they leave your muzzle, you cannot get them back."