MIG welding...setting the speed
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

MIG welding...setting the speed

I am new to the form. I have been using a stick welder for a while, repairing equipment on the farm. I have recently got a little mig welder.

I have only had it for a little while and welded a few exhausts. I really like using the MIG welder. How do i know to set the speed? Currently i just weld a little and adjust it till it goes good. It seems like if the speed is to slow it breaks the are and if it is to high there is a lot of splater.

Tips on getting the right speed

Re: MIG welding...setting the speed

I'm not a short arc expert, had most experience with pulsed spray, so I believe these principles apply, but hopefully others will have more specific recommendations.
    In general, wire feed speed = current = heat= penetration. Voltage = arc length, low voltage = too short and arc and wire stubs into base metal and makes a lot of spatter, high voltage = too long an arc and wire makes big globs and weld sucks. Attempt to tune in the sound of frying bacon. Also, the distance between the contact tip and the work affects how much current is lost to resistance heating of the wire, and how much current gets to the arc, so shorter distance is more heat to the arc so it should probably be around 1/2 to 3/4".

Thin materials require smaller wire and lower current.

Please tell us what power supply, what wire type and diameter, what shielding gas you are using.

Quote Originally Posted by pulser
    Please tell us what power supply, what wire type and diameter, what shielding gas you are using.
    And check under the wire door for a chart. Should be in the owner's manual, too.

It sounds like welder is to small,witch it more likely only capable of welding max "1/4 in. and if you are welding farm equipment you need a bigger welder.is your welder now a 110 or 220 amps