Aluminum Mig Overhead
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Aluminum Mig Overhead

Looking for some opinions here. I have a lot of experience welding aluminum and do it frequently. Recently, I was doing some welding on an aluminum trailer. I was welding 1/4" aluminum tube to 1/4" aluminum angle. My problem was in the overhead position the results were disastrous. Welding flat, as usual, was not a problem and produced great results.

My question is, is there an operator error here that I am not getting in doing overhead aluminum MIG?

I have a Lincoln 350MP and Prince XL spool gun with 3/64" 5356. I don't recall the settings I used but I used the same settings I welded in the flat position.

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Re: Aluminum Mig Overhead

Based on my own experience with a Lincoln Pro-MIG 175 (no spool gun) on aluminum. For the brief overhead welding, I turned up the heat higher than necessary, but kept the wire speed consistant with what I would have used for a vertical down. The trick was to limit the bead length to basically tack welds. The end result resembled TIG welds more so than MIG. I can't attest for the quality of the welds, but for that application, those welds were not that critical. I also had to weld from underneath a welding blanket to keep from getting peppered with molten aluminum. Since then, I've avoided any overhead welding.

Where I work, all the aluminum welding, robot or manual, is structural. The welders invert whatever they're working on (regardless of size) to have either flat or vert down welds.
    There are no small projects

Where you using stright MIG or pulse?

Straight Mig - 100% Argon

Quote Originally Posted by imagineer