Questions about "drag rods" and "7014."
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Questions about "drag rods" and "7014."

I'm NOT a professional welder, so pardon the ignorant questions....

I've read that 7024 is a "drag rod." Would 7014 also be considered a "drag rod" too? Also, does 7014 have similar welding characteristics as 6013, or are the two completely different? I know that 6013 was designed for sheet metal originally on DC-, yet works well on AC. I know from SOME little experience that is doesn't penetrate that much and produces lots of slag.

I just got a "TON" of FREE 7014 in two 50lb unopened canisters and I've been playing with it. I see that it puts out a lot of weld metal and a ton of slag too. It reminded me of 6013, but perhaps I'm not moving fast enough and/or my arc gap is incorrect. Am I correct in the belief that 6013 and 7014 are very similar? (Yes, I do know that the difference between the "60" and "70" are tensile strength). Am I missing something else between the two types of electrodes?

What's all your personal opinion(s) of 7014? Finally, is 7014 best on AC or DC? I've seen some mixed reviews on Google and NOT from welding forums (primarily an off road forum from NON-WELDERS). Seems like 7014 is not used much any longer. Would I like 7014 better moving up or down when welding vertical?

Thank you very much.
    "Hey I didn't come to look and learn, I came to turn and burn.... If I can't light up, I'm gonna light out!"
    -Jody

Idealarc 250 "Fatman"
    MM 252
    MM 211 "Little boy"
    Victor Torches

Re: Questions about "drag rods" and "7014."

Lots of questions here.

With stick welding you always use a drag angle, as opposed to pushing.

With stick welding, electro-magnetic forces cause the puddle and and the molten slag to be repelled by the arc. Dragging the arc blows the slag backwards, away from the leading edge of the puddle.