Warning-----Induction heating
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Warning-----Induction heating

John,
    I long time ago I was A Detective with a city police department. I was the new guy so, I got all of the stolen cars, and the cases that nobody wanted. I was assigned to work with Fire Marshal's Office. That where the education started. The first seminar that I was sent to was an electrical arson seminar. At the time I was a licensed electrician in my state and I had never heard of fire by inductive wiring. The instructor showed us the results of induction. Here it goes... You run 100' of extension cord to a Christmas thee in your front yard, the tree is only 50' from the house, you leave a COIL of wire half-way out to the tree. The next time it snows all of the cord is covered with snow, except the coil which so hot it melts the snow. Example #2 You have an extension cord (of any type) that is too long. You plug the cord into the wall and run the cord to the Christmas Tree, the excess cord is COILED UP and left under the edge of the rug. a thermocouple was placed in each of the coiled sections and enough heat was generated by the coil of wire to start a fire and it did start a fire in these classes. Most people know about basic electricity but, (CAPS INTENTIONAL) INDUCTION HEATING IS SOMETHING TO BR RECKONED WITH AND WHILE I AM AT IT. 12-2 ROMEX IS RATED FOR 20AMPS IN FREE AIR, IF YOU RUN ROMEX THROUGH CONDUIT IT LOOSES IT'S HEAT LOSS POTENTIAL AND THEREFORE IT'S CURRENT CARRYING CAPACITY

CHECK YOUR LOCAL CODES, THEY ARE ALL BASED ON THE NEC (NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE) AND THEY MAY & WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE

Re: Warning-----Induction heating