PDA

View Full Version : Hobart 175 Dead Control



JKC9392
09-19-2007, 09:07 PM
Anybody know why a 175 would totally loose control of wire speed,and at times not feed at all. I'm curious because a friend of mine has this problem.He has totally dissconnected gun from machine and still does samething.

pmac
09-26-2007, 08:14 AM
My HH175 did the same thing until it finally quit feeding wire. I had to have the main control board replaced. This cost about $325.I think the 175 is a great welder but if had it to do over i would have put the money towards the new HH210.

KSellon
01-17-2008, 11:02 AM
Wow $325. If it wasn't covered under warranty that board (PN 195887) lists for $194, and it only takes 15 mins to change it out. The LA, LB and LC serial number series were the ones that had the problem with the board. On both the HH135 and HH175. The problem that preceeded the board failure was the feed motor would start up just fine, but then slow to nothing.

Also on the same model the voltage to the feed motor came thru the range switch, so if the switch is inbetween settings the feed motor won't operate.

MicroZone
01-17-2008, 11:25 AM
Excellent information, where have you been hiding? :)

coldlap
01-17-2008, 11:35 AM
Are there any local guys who repair pcbs,they usually cost £55.00 in the uk or $103.00..Its worth a try:cool2:

KSellon
01-18-2008, 07:10 PM
I use Innovat Corp to rebuild any welder related boards. www.innovatcorp.com They are located in Marion Virginia

Cruizer
02-28-2008, 11:27 AM
Wow $325. If it wasn't covered under warranty that board (PN 195887) lists for $194, and it only takes 15 mins to change it out. The LA, LB and LC serial number series were the ones that had the problem with the board. On both the HH135 and HH175. The problem that preceeded the board failure was the feed motor would start up just fine, but then slow to nothing.

Also on the same model the voltage to the feed motor came thru the range switch, so if the switch is inbetween settings the feed motor won't operate.

You must be another tech, I don't know where these guys are buying the boards. Maybe we are doing something wrong.

Perhaps we should sell boards double the list price, then we would be rolling in dough as well.

Jeff:blob2:

KSellon
03-27-2008, 05:50 PM
No doubt. I have the wrong mind set, I just want to make a living doing what I love.

Yes I am a tech. My dad and I own and operate Bills Welder Repair in Oklahoma CIty. I've been doing this for 18 years.

www.billswelderrepair.com

Chuck Harder
12-29-2009, 12:52 AM
I read on another post that Hobart realized there was a problem with the circuit boards and "improved" them later. I have already replaced the circuit board once several years ago in my HH175 welder and it appears to be dead again. I'd be okay with replacing it again if I can get the "improved" version. Is there some way to know what I already have, because if it's the "improved" version, I'm not impressed!

Thanks for your help!

Chuck