PDA

View Full Version : Is this band saw any good?

JeepSahara
04-08-2008, 10:20 PM
Anyone have experience with this band saw? I am not a pro or anything just sort of a hobby guy that likes to tinker and was looking for a better way to cut up steel better and maybe more accurately than my chop saw. Let me know thanks.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=93762

Broccoli1
04-08-2008, 10:32 PM
Scroll down and look at the thread " HF 4x6 band saw just went on sale $150..."
:dizzy::dizzy:

bentwings
04-27-2008, 11:39 AM
I got one of these a long time ago. It's been updated with a better switch now from the picture. Mine has cut one big pile of steel much of it 4130 tubing. Used with a bit of cutting oil blades last a while. I made a better vertical table with a replacable table surface. works great.

The only thing I don't like is the gear box. It has a lot of backlash right from the start. I opened it up and about fell over from the reeky oder of the lubricant. Closed it up and forgot about it.

So Far a good buy.

Jim Stabe
04-27-2008, 01:38 PM
[QUOTE=bentwings;182498]
The only thing I don't like is the gear box. It has a lot of backlash right from the start. I opened it up and about fell over from the reeky oder of the lubricant. Closed it up and forgot about it.QUOTE]
When I got mine I drained the factory lube, washed out the cavity with solvent and refilled with 90-140 gear lube. You wouldn't believe the crud that was in the factory lube.

Jim

steve45
04-28-2008, 08:05 PM
[QUOTE=bentwings;182498]
The only thing I don't like is the gear box. It has a lot of backlash right from the start. I opened it up and about fell over from the reeky oder of the lubricant. Closed it up and forgot about it.QUOTE]
When I got mine I drained the factory lube, washed out the cavity with solvent and refilled with 90-140 gear lube. You wouldn't believe the crud that was in the factory lube.

Jim