PDA

View Full Version : TA ArcMaster 185 ACDC



sail2u
04-15-2008, 01:57 AM
My local welding supplier (US AirWeld) was able to match the lowest internet price of this machine within $40, so it was a no-brainer to buy from him, even with the sales tax added. The gas bottle is aluminum--what a weight difference!

Now I have to do a lot of practice, practice.

David R
04-15-2008, 06:19 AM
Congrats on the new toy. I have one and use it to make money. I built a cart for it and put a "roll bar" around it. Looks like yours is going to tip over on that cart. :realmad:

18783

David

DesertRider33
04-15-2008, 10:00 AM
That looks like a CO2 bottle.

I'm happy with my TA185 too!

smithboy
04-15-2008, 12:02 PM
It does look like a co2 bottle...but, it looks like the valve is the correct one for argon...I want one.

sail2u
04-16-2008, 03:59 AM
It is 100% argon, per the label, and its effect on aluminum.

As for tipping-- the gas bottle helps weight it down, and it's meant to only roll around the garage-- if I were to move anywhere it could tip, I would carry the power supply (37#).

David R -- is that a water cooler under your machine? If so, which one and where did you get it?

David R
04-16-2008, 05:57 AM
ItSnip...

David R -- is that a water cooler under your machine? If so, which one and where did you get it?

IOC off Ebay, came with torch and everything. I think $540.

You will need one if you do much welding.

David

gear
05-05-2008, 09:39 PM
I borrowed the exact unit you guys have here. I ran a circuit in my garage for it as per the directions and the power cord has only three prongs. 30 amp 200 service. Ran 10/3 wire. When I plug it in I get a code E85. You know what this is?

Thanks in advance.
Ed in CT

David R
05-06-2008, 05:42 AM
IS the machine hooked up for 3 phase?

The manual is available at the thermal arc website.


OK, I went and checked. E85 is if the caps internally don't charge properly. Try turning it off and on again.

Here is the manual. http://www.thermadyne.com/IM_Uploads/Literature/lit_140_300X4861.pdf

David

xt300301nut
05-06-2008, 02:11 PM
Verify that you have the hot and ground wires connected to the proper positions in your plug. Reversing these will cause the E85 code.