PDA

View Full Version : Plasma cutter?

bdog_v
07-07-2008, 05:51 AM
hello I am thinking of buying the AirForce™ 400 plasma cutter. However, this is my first time dealing with a plasma cutter so I need to learn the basics. Can someone tell me.

-What would need to be maintained on this machine any kind of tips?

-Do I need to buy the 195981 Plasma Cutting Guide, in order to cut straight lines?

-Or is there some way to use the plasma cutter and cut straight without buying the expensive guides? They are around $130!!!! for the one I listed above....

-ANy other thoughts???

Thanks!!!!!

STwelder
07-07-2008, 06:39 AM
As far as straight line cutting, get your self a piece if 1/4" flat stock 1 1/2" wide and as long as you think you might need to cut a straight line and that should do that. And as for consumables for the machine it shouldn't be any different than the rest, tips collars the normal stuff for the torch. Maintained KEEP DRY air only going to the machine. And no self oilers inline in the air supply, or compressors worn or not that are known to add oil to the air. And by the way that is a nice cutter the Airforce 400.

ed mac
07-07-2008, 05:51 PM
i have the miller 375 same as the hobart 400 great machine
for the money shop around cyberweld.com has the miller for $1000.00
and northern tools has the hobart for $1300.00 +tax
and cyberweld has a consumable kit for around $70.00

longevity-inc.com
07-08-2008, 01:51 PM
Hello,

Make sure you get a unit that has less costly consumables so you will save some $$$ down the road.

Also, some of the units overate their cutting capability so I recommend getting the next model up.

Simon

jimcolt
07-08-2008, 02:22 PM
I will disagree with the less costly consumables issue......get a system with the longest consumable life. The actual cost of consumables is not the price of the consumables...but the price of the consumables divided by the amount of material cut! It's called operating cost.