PDA

View Full Version : Fillet beads

BobR
01-24-2004, 11:39 PM
Hi,
I got a 140 amp mig welder, set at the highest setting, .030 wire, argon/CO2 gas. When I do fillet welds, they are laying down on the horizontal piece at about a 30 degree angle(in
stead of 45 degrees) I'm welding on 1/8 mild steel. I keep my gun at a 45 degree angle and point the wire directly at the joint doing a Tiny weave just to make sure I hit both pieces. How come my welds are laying down on the horizontal piece(30 degree angle) when I have my gun at a 45 degree angle?

Thanks Bob

Franz
01-24-2004, 11:55 PM
GRAVITY
Your weld pool is being moved by gravity before it solidifys.

BobR
01-25-2004, 12:14 AM
Thanks for the reply....what should I do to get the profile at a 45?

Bob

Customwelds
01-25-2004, 12:48 AM
I would try to weave a little more on the top plate, and a little less emphasis on the bottom plate. Try to make sure you get complete fusion on both plates, just bias the top side of the joint a bit. That should do it if you just stay up a little higher than normal, similar gun angles, just favor the top a bit. Hope this helps, if you have any other problems or questions, just post em!

Planet X
01-25-2004, 02:38 AM
Hey BobR, sounds like a case of the 'Unequal Legs' syndrome. So we are both on the same page lets define some 'Welding Terms'.
1) Unequal Legs- one of the two sides (legs) of bead are not the same length or width.
2) Work Angle- this is the angle given from the part-in your case the 45 degree mark that splits the 90 degree t-joint.
3) Travel Angle- this angle relates to 'push' or 'drag' angle or tilt of the gun.
4) Electrode Angle- this is just the heading that both the 'work' & 'travel' angles would fall under.

Primary causes of 'unequal Legs', wrong work angle and or wrong welder technique.