PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of going out on my own

toolman
02-07-2009, 10:00 AM
Just a little back ground. I have been welding for a living since i was 16. Now I'm 46 and have worked for the same company for 28 years the economy has sucked the life out of this job and I do not think it will survive. They told us Friday that our severance pay has been done away with so no reason to stay any longer. I have all the equipment and a shop I have used for hobby use and small side jobs for years.My question is about insurance and banking ( separate from my personnel finaces) for a buisness. So what do you guys do on these issues.

Thanks
Tim

mn welder
02-08-2009, 07:10 PM
theres a cool website welding tips and tricks.com that you should take a look at lots of helpful info on startin a weld biz 1st get some busniess cards and pass em out to parts stores and shops you gonna do just shop work or portable both im sure you are capable of all process and all 4 positions woudl be only help i can give im struggling myself

boatbuilder
02-08-2009, 07:10 PM
Start a corporation to separate your personal and business. Talk to a lawyer and account to see whats needed where you plan on working. Don't work to cheap, there are tons of people that will have there hand in your pocket. I like quickbooks to keep track of the billing and banking.(also easy for accountant). Find a product that you can make and sell in the slow times . Offer a good job at a fair price and stand behind your work and business will come.

Good luck,
Bob

gordfraser
02-08-2009, 09:06 PM
As around for a good accountant.
You shouldnt need a lawyer yet unless you have some big contracts to produce.

costs @ 1K to form a corporation, which will save you money every year...your accountant should be able to explain it...if he is any good.

open a bank account in the name of your business and use it for all your business stuff...ONLY.