PDA

View Full Version : old welder I passed up

imc188222
02-17-2009, 05:18 PM
I just passed up a Hobart 300D for $1000. I went and looked at it, very low hours, perkins diesel, 100ft leads, looked to be in very nice shape. Now someone slap my hand and tell me how bad I screwed up.

partagas
02-18-2009, 01:10 AM
If you were closer I would slap the you know what out of you.around here you can not find anything that cheap..

BNF
02-18-2009, 08:48 AM
I won't slap you, as I can't reach that far. I wouldn't mind having a grand in a 300D if it was like you described. It would fit my needs well.

imc188222
02-18-2009, 10:31 AM
I am going back and forth as to whether or not I should have bought it. The thing is a monster, 300amp at 100% duty cycle. I live on a farm and run a car repair business. I do alot of welding but am not a welder by trade. I decided that I could not justify buying a mobile welder that I could not run as a generator. This welder had two sets of 110v outlets, no big 220 outlet. I don't know if I could have wired one in or not. The owners manual did not seem to say anything about that. The advertisement did not say much about the welder and there was no picture, the guy couldn't tell me much about it either. I raced down to look at it yesterday, I figured that if it was what I wanted, it wasn't going to be around long. I am kinda kicking myself for not buying it. I had to drive two hours one way to look at it, it was a hard call to make having driven so far. It just wasn't exactly what I wanted. If I welded for a living I would have snapped it up. It seemed to weld real nice. Old machine though, no auto throttle, huge heavy thing. I am tempted to drive all the way back down there and buy it but I think it would probably just end up sitting in the barn.

partagas
02-19-2009, 01:44 AM