PDA

View Full Version : welding work in virginia

wareagle
10-02-2009, 01:35 AM
HELLO. I WAS WANTING TO GET SOME FEEDBACK ON THIS...I'M IN SCHOOL NOW FOR WELDING TECH . 2 YEAR DEGREE.I DO THAT BY DAY AND BY NIGHT I WORK AS A WELDER FOR A SMALL UNION SHOP ..I LOVE THE OCEAN AND MISS THE FISHING.I HAVE DECIDED TO LEAVE KENTUCKY AND START LOOKING FOR A GOOD WELDING JOB VERY NEAR THE OCEAN..I'M GOING TO VISIT VIRGINIA 4 THANKSGIVING WEEK..THERE IS LARGE SHIPYARDS AROUND NORFOLK I HEAR..I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH HARD WORK FOR GOOD PAY..I HEAR LOTS OF NEGITIVE ABOUT SHIPYARD WORK....ANY WORD ON THIS???? I'M NOT DEAD SET ON VIRGINIA BUT I DON'T LIKE EXTREME HEAT,OR FORGET NEW JERSEY,AND NEW YORK..TOO COSTLY..VIRGINIA SEEMS TO HAVE REASONABLE HOUSE PRICES AND THE OCEAN RIGHT THERE.....1 THING I KNOW IS I WILL ONLY ACCEPT A JOB WELDING..THIS IS MY CAREER. ANY ADVISE ON WHERE I SHOULD LOOK FOR A POSSIBLE GOOD JOB...SHIPYARD,OIL RIG/PLATFORM,POWERPLANTS,ECT??? I AM MARRIED AND HAVE 1 SON KEEP IN MIND...MY TEACHER IS A ,,,,,AWS CWI SO I WILL BE ABLE TO PICK UP A FEW CERTS AND I WILL HAVE MABY 5 YRS AS A WELDER/FABRICATOR...LOOKING FOWARD TO HEAR ANY GOOD ADVICE FROM SOME EXPERIENCED WELDERS,AND SOME FISHIN FREAKS!!!!!!!!l LOL

Gramo
10-23-2009, 05:37 PM
Shipyard welding isn't bad at all. Did if for 6 years. Most of it fluxcore now in VA. But you'll need to pass f/c 3 position, stick 3 position and mig horizontal. If you go through a contractact co. you can make big money. Try someone like tradesmen international or go to Indeed.com and search welder and per diem and you'll find more. Good luck. I'm going to move to VA in the beginning of next year. Northrop Grumman is the main co. there. Its a good co. with good benefits. top pay is about 21.50 hr.

wareagle
10-24-2009, 12:05 AM