PDA

View Full Version : Battery Powered Welder..



zapster
02-28-2010, 01:45 PM
Check It Out..
http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_200390405_200390405

...zap!

lugweld
02-28-2010, 01:59 PM
I've welded with that unit at a test demonstration. It welds nice and smooth...Only prob: you get about 5-6 foot of weld on a charge. Although you can use it plugged in, it kinda defeats the purpose. But in a pinch, it would be invaluable though. The site says 100" of weld, but I did speak with the designer at Hobart about it and if I remember right, that was an "optimistic" rating they put on it depending upon wire size and minimum settings.

John T
02-28-2010, 02:15 PM
would be perfect for the weekend racer..
sometimes you don't have electricity handy when your in the pits... depending on the track..

I used to help my buddy that raced go carts... that would have come in handy for quick repairs.

Sparky#1
03-01-2010, 10:37 PM
I wrote about this welder a few weeks ago but heres a review also.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZOtQ25aOO5U

Stix
03-05-2010, 12:22 PM
I've welded with that unit at a test demonstration. It welds nice and smooth...Only prob: you get about 5-6 foot of weld on a charge.

I wonder if you could have a couple of spare deep cycle batteries and a heavy duty battery switch connected to a receptacle installed on the outside of the welder? (maybe after the warranty expires!)

I wonder what voltage the batteries are - the Hobart FAQs say you need to call Tech Support to get replacements. I use two big 6v golf cart batteries (220 amp hours each) in series for a 12v inverter, but four of them in series would prolly power that welder for a lot longer than the stock Hobart batteries. Of course, the deep cycles are a little bit heavier . . .

- Rick
_______________________
Hobart Stickmate LX235AC

fhsfiremanco1
03-06-2010, 12:15 AM
Thats a nice little welder. it would be nice with track side repairs.

awright
04-11-2010, 01:36 AM
I wonder how the Hobart performance compares with the Ready-Welder wire-feed torch that works directly off two or three 12 volt batteries? I've never used one, but lots of guys seem to like the Ready-Welder which sells at less than half the price of the Hobart.

In fact, since the Hobart mentions two internal sealed lead-acid batteries, I'm guessing it operates directly off 24 volts without any sophisticated current conditioning other than wire speed control much the same as the Ready-Welder spool gun. If that is the case, but you are limited to special batteries to fit in the fancy cabinet, what is its advantage over the Ready-Welder that operates off whatever automotive or deep-cycle batteries you happen to have handy? I guess the main advantage of the Hobart would be that it is ready to go without having to jury-rig two or three batteries in series (assuming that you have kept it charged up).

Don't forget, you are always going to be limited to the energy available from the batteries no matter what electronic magic goes on between the batteries and the torch.

awright

Crawford
04-11-2010, 01:46 AM
looks better than a redneck car battery SMAW bead. lol. a lot pricier too.

padronanniversary
12-13-2010, 11:26 PM
I just got one, and I have to say, I am impressed with the welds so far. At least in the jeep, I have access to a inverter, and can run off a car battery to power or charge it.

So far its a winner. I was just out in the garage setting up another welding table with it for fun. 1/4 seems not to be an issue for it.

turk
12-25-2010, 05:44 PM
http://alaskaslist.com/1/posts/9_General/58_Tools_Equipment/133104_Matco_Portable_Wire_Feed_Welder.html

here is a used one from matco asking $200

joiseystud
12-27-2010, 08:57 AM
link didnt work for me

oxygen454
12-27-2010, 05:24 PM
That is really cool. I was thinking it would be well over 100 lbs with the batteries but it says 65lbs which is not too bad.

I have to say it did do a nice job in your review, I also agree with the crappy ground clamps. Not sure why they cheap out there.

Makes me wonder if my small 220volt air liquide welder will do better with a decent ground clamp. Also might change from .035 hard wire to 0.35 flux for more heat penetration. Will that help?

awright
12-27-2010, 06:41 PM
Like joiseystud said, link comes up with,

" Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /1/posts/9_General/58_Tools_Equipment/133104_Matco_Portable_Wire_Feed_Welder.html on this server."

Anyone know how to get around this?

awright

turk
12-27-2010, 09:13 PM
it works when i tested on a friends computer, i don't know what is wrong with it.

go to www.alaskaslist.com search matco and it is the first listing. it is a welder that uses 4 inch spools, flux core only and looks like a battery jump box. $200

joiseystud
12-27-2010, 09:58 PM
it works when i tested on a friends computer, i don't know what is wrong with it.

go to www.alaskaslist.com search matco and it is the first listing. it is a welder that uses 4 inch spools, flux core only and looks like a battery jump box. $200

even just going to the site doesnt work. I get a 403 permissions error from the site.

60270

turk
12-27-2010, 11:09 PM
double post

turk
12-27-2010, 11:11 PM
]i don't know. here is the ad, but the pic didn't copy


United States Alaska Home / General / Tools | Equipment

Ad Number: A133104


Matco Portable Wire Feed Welder (Wasilla)
Reply to : brent@aklinebuilders.com
Price : $200
Telephone : 907-715-8099
Matco model wfw 2135 130 amp rechargable gaseless wire feed welder. Uses .030 wire very handy in the feild for emergency repairs.

oxygen454
12-28-2010, 10:54 PM
FWIW, the link worked for me :)

Using firefox... I think Internet Explorer may block the page. Never liked IE.

Maybe try copy paste the full link here...
alaskaslist.com/1/posts/9_General/58_Tools_Equipment/133104_Matco_Portable_Wire_Feed_Welder.html

awright
12-29-2010, 01:17 PM
I'm using Firefox and I got the same "Forbidden..." message as before copying and pasting the link.

awright

joiseystud
12-29-2010, 03:21 PM
I tried to open it in Chrome and IE. Same result on both.

joiseystud
12-29-2010, 03:22 PM
I'm using Firefox and I got the same "Forbidden..." message as before copying and pasting the link.

awright

Maybe it only works in Canada and Alaska? Anyone else in continental US able to see the link?

jughead
01-18-2011, 08:43 AM
worked ok for me.