PDA

View Full Version : Which plasma for CNC?

robert123
03-09-2010, 02:27 AM
Hi,

I am looking for more information on deciding which plasma cutter would be a better fit. I don't know that much about plasma cutters. I am just starting to learn. The top contenders are a barely used Powermax 1250 or an older HD-1070 HyDefinition plasma. Is this older unit good? Does anyone have reasonable estimates of the costs to operate (electricity, consumables, etc.)? Has the HyDef evolved significantly and is it still much better than newer non HyDef? The plasma will supplement a waterjet, and the majority of the work it would see would be 1/4" or thinner.

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Robert

jimcolt
03-09-2010, 09:10 AM
The 1070 is an industrial, high definition multigas plasma system.....it is designed for high production cutting 3 shifts a day, with long consumable life and high accuracy......assuming the cutting machine and torch height control that it is being used with are designed for high duty cycle and accuracy as well. This system, like all of Hypertherm's industrial plasmas, is a high frequency start plasma....which cannot be used on many PC controlled entry level cutting machines. The 1070 is older technology, originally introduced in 1993 or so.......it has been replaced with Hypertherm's HPR130xd high definition system.....with better consumable life, tighter tolerances, faster cut speed, and more power.

The 1250....as well as all of the Hypertherm Powermax series, are air cooled air plasma systems...these are not 100% duty cycle, do not have the ability to use a variety of different gases to fine tune the cut quality. The Powermax units are a fraction of the cost of the HPR units, yet cost a little more to operate and do not produce the same cut quality from a metalurgical, edge angularity and cut part accuracyt point of view.