PDA

View Full Version : New Hobart Handler 140, I'm Pumped!

locomoshun
12-07-2006, 12:46 PM
After a lot of internet/forum research and price shopping, I ordered a new Hobart Handler 140 from Northern Tool. $449+free Mig cart+free freight+no tax.:blob4: I wanted a name brand and heard good things about the 140. Its due to get here on Monday. Despite some bias against 115v welders I feel I made the right decision. I already have a Lincoln 220v AC/DC arc buzzbox that will handle the thick stuff. I'm new to welding, and I think I'm doing pretty good with the Lincoln on anything over about 1/8". My problem is I'm doing a car project and I have given up on welding thin sheetmetal with it. My friend down the street can weld sheetmetal with a stick, but he has many years experience as a professional welder. He has done some work for me but its got to the point that I think I'm taking advantage of him and I need to learn to do these things myself. I even tried buying Eastwood's Stitch Welder for AC arc, unfortunately I can't see it is much use, at least for me. Due to the fact I have 220 arc capacity, and I need the Mig for sheetmetal, I thought the 140 was a good choice as it can go down to 25 amps. I also wanted a 115v so that I could load it and plug it in anywhere. This leads to my question: I'm kind of tapped out on funds right now, so I think I'll start with a 40cf bottle of C25. My local supply has these for $100. My thinking is I can get started with this size bottle. Again I want my setup to be portable, the 80cf bottles are too much to grab and go. I also want my cart to be lightweight when I roll it around the shop. I don't have any idea how much gas I will go through, but I plan to buy a 150cf and refill my 40cf myself if the need arises. I do like the 150cf for long term as the welding supply charges the same to refill a 150 as a 40. Do any of you other guys refill your own bottles and is this a sound plan? And please don't suggest I use the flux core wire for