PDA

View Full Version : Clarke 180EN questions

DenisMcG
02-11-2007, 01:10 PM
First of all, let me introduce myself. My name is Denis and I am a novice welder. Over the past number of years, I have had several items that have required welding. On each occasion, I have taken the item to a professional and have marvelled at the artistry and functionality of the process. Since I have always wanted to learn, and the fact that I am a car nut (lots of bodywork etc), I figured that I should just go ahead and buy a welder. I researched for months, and finally settled on the Clarke. It was a good combination of price, capability, and owner satisfaction. All this to say. For those of you who own the 180EN, could you provide some setting information for various thickness of metal. I am currently just using the flux-core wire that came with the welder. Once I burn that up with my practicing, I will attempt to find some gas and try gas welding. I still don't even know where I would get the bottles and gas (rural Nova Scotia).

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dipper Welder64
02-11-2007, 02:01 PM
I'm not familiar with the clarke but I'm sure they included setting's in the operators manual.

DenisMcG
02-11-2007, 03:06 PM
Thanks for the reply. Yes, there are suggested settings, but I was more interested in real world settings that others may me using.

cricman
02-12-2007, 01:54 AM
Hey Dennis,