AC TIG Aluminum Noise?
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

AC TIG Aluminum Noise?

Is welding aluminum with AC TIG supposed to be noisy?
    I'm relatively new to welding, did some mild steel and stainless steel over the past few weeks.
    Now I'm trying to weld some 1/6" thick aluminum cleaned well, 1/16" 2% thoriated electrode sharpened to point, 60 amps, ArcMaster 185 welding machine, and it makes an awful lot of noise.
    I have no idea if this is normal.

Re: AC TIG Aluminum Noise?

Yeah its normal. Don't worry. Was that a typo? Did you mean 1/16"? Wait till you use more amps, it will get louder

Yes, sorry, 1/16" thick.
    Thanks for the immediate reply!

I did a search for "aluminum noise", "aluminum noisy", "aluminum sound", "ac noise", "ac sound", "hf sound", "hf noise", and couldn't find anything.
    Then I searched for the same things on Google and couldn't find anything.
    Usually I can find something somewhere, but not in this case.
    Last edited by turboimpala; 08-05-2008 at 10:00 PM.

I am not familiar with your machine, can you adjust the frequency?

Quote Originally Posted by Burnit View Post
    I am not familiar with your machine, can you adjust the frequency?
    Yes.

But going from DC Tig - ahh silent, to AC Bzzzzzzzzz probably freaked him out

I started on AC- aloominum first so I thought that was what Tig welding was going to sound like-

Man on DC it sure is nice and quiet.

I have the same machine.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.com/
    MM252
    MM211 (Sold)
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

Yes, AC tig is a good bit louder than DC tig. As amperage increases it will get louder.
    I'm a Lover, Fighter, Wild horse Rider, and a pretty good welding man......

Actually the Arc Master 185 is relatively quiet on AC compared to other machines I've used.