Hobart Champion 10000
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

Hobart Champion 10000

I am repairing a Hobart Champion 10000 welder/generator – serial # LH380432Y
    The machine was involved in a fire and the plastic parts and wiring were melted. There is no sign of damage to the generator/welder bryond the firewall.

I have replaced the necessary parts to start the engine and it runs well. My next step is to verify that the generator and welder work prior to investing more money into the machine.

I have not been able to get electricity from the generator as of this posting. I have plenty of experience with engines but could use some help on the welder/generator aspect.

Thanks

Re: Hobart Champion 10000

If you don't have the manual to trace out and follow the unit wiring, go here http://www.hobartwelders.com/service/owners-manuals/ to download a copy.

Which engine?
    MM200 w/Spoolmatic 1
    Syncrowave 180SD
    Bobcat 225G Plus - LP/NG
    MUTT Suitcase Wirefeeder
    WC-1S/Spoolmatic 1
    HF-251D-1
    PakMaster 100XL
    '68 Red Face Code #6633 project
    Star Jet 21-110

Save Second Base!

Kohler CH-20 engine – serial# 3714300741, Specification# 64635

My guess would be if it got that hot there is a high probability that the Field Control board PC1 got toasted along with all those wires and plastic parts seeing as it's mounted directly behind the face plate.

There are several functions the Field Control board performs but first to get things started it directs 12vdc battery voltage to the generator rotor brushes for initial field excitation.
    With engine running (oil pressure switch closed) and at high idle weld speed, check for:
    1) 12vdc voltage at PC1 plug PLG5, pin 5 (wire #20) and PLG9, pin 1 (wire #33).
    2) Then, 12vdc at the rotor brushes wire #21(+) and #26(-). If no battery voltage at the brushes, it's likely PC1 was damaged from the fire heat.