Metal Band Saws
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Metal Band Saws

Metal Band Saws

I am now looking around at band saws.I am not a professional but just a metal hobbyist.I looked at Harbor Freights, Eastwoods, and finally Northern tools,Klutch. All three are very similar in HP and the basic design. Basically they all look the same to me. Are there major differences? A while back I purchased a Evolution Rage 4 but this has limits regarding the size material it is able to handle.Anyway if anyone has opinions, let's hear it, Thanks, Ken

Re: Metal Band Saws

Pick a color. They all need "the tune up" to cut "right"..whatever that means. Guys buy these things and expect them to cut "machinist quality". They're fine for welding cuts......if you can stand the s---l---o---w. I gave mine to a girl that makes art. I had the red one. If I were to buy another(I wont) I'd get a 1600 Ellis for the miter to cut bundled fence-gate pickets
    EDIT. The Jet seems to have the best paint.

Metal Band Saws

Get a grizzly band saw - I have one and it’s really good with miters.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000M...Q4L&ref=plSrch

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by mpower; 03-18-2018 at 03:40 PM.

I vote for ELLIS 1600 if you can afford it.

How much floor space or bench top space do you have to commit to the saw?
    What is your budget?

Check Craigslist religiously. I picked up a professional model Wellsaw 1000 for $600. I can cut approximately 9" pipes or cylinders with it.

Once you have a bandsaw you will wonder why you didn't get one earlier. It will make life a lot easier and more efficient. Set the saw, turn on, go do something else and listen for the saw to stop or piece to drop. You will really like having one and again, wonder why you didn't get it earlier. Kind of like a lathe (cough, cough, BD1, cough, cough).
    Millermatic 252 MIG
    Miller Dynasty 200DX TIG
    Miller Spectrum 625 Plasma