Newbie Needs Help with MIG
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

I'm a beginning welder with a new Lotos MIG 140. I got some 1/8" thick angle steel to practice on, but I have trouble getting decent weld penetration. The recommended settings with the machine are 100% for both voltage and wire speed. The machine displays 24.8 volts and about 550 in/min. When I try to weld, the wire just melts into a blob on top of the steel.

Name:  IMG_20180727_124557.jpg
Views: 406
Size:  97.8 KB

I have to turn the wire speed down to around 20% on the dial (which reads at 50 in/min, interestingly) to get the wire to melt into the steel at all. Even then, the bead seems to be very narrow and sit up pretty high.

Name:  IMG_20180727_124704.jpg
Views: 400
Size:  96.5 KB

I've tried to vary the weld speed, angle, stickout, push/pull, and switching polarities without better results than the photos.

I'm running 0.030 ER70S6 wire and C-25 at 14 L/min plugged into a 110V 20 Amp circuit.

The settings of 100% voltage and 20% wire speed to get a weld seem troublesome, but is a 50 in/min wire feed speed abnormal? Is there something I'm missing or need to try differently?

Stop trying to weld old bed frames.
    : (first pic)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221

True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

Re: Newbie Needs Help with MIG

How long is your arc? And can you actually see the gap with the arc jumping through it? Kind of looks like the wire is just piled up there. I would turn down the wire speed until the gap is really long, as there is where the heat comes from.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    MillerDynasty700DX,Dynasty350DX3ea,Dynasty200DX,Th ermalArc400GTSW,LincolnSW2002ea., MillerMatic350P,MillerMatic200withspoolgun,MKCobra Mig260,Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm1250,HFProTig3ea.