Plasma cutter air compressor question - Page 2
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 36 of 36
  1. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,357

    Plasma cutter air compressor question

    As it turns out I came across an 85 gallon compressor tank today so I grabbed it. The compressor was toast and the shop was just using it as reserve tank. 5 HP Baldor was good when the compressor packed it in.

    $75 USD. and ten minutes from home.










    A BIG guy helped me lift one end to slide it in. When I got home I was too lazy to sling it so just used the extended forks.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Lis2323; 09-10-2019 at 03:40 PM.
    :

  2. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    34

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    Nice! All the storage capacity you'll ever need. Roughly 11 cu.ft. Nice score.
    Jim

  3. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    67

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    Looks like a 3 phase motor? Do you have 3 phase? You realize now you will want to add a 5HP compressor pump, right?

    Any little 120V consumer grade compressor will burn up in no time trying to fill this volume of air. Most of those are rated to run 50% duty cycle, I think based on 10 minutes. So 5 minutes ON and 5 minutes OFF within 10 minutes.

    Maybe a 3HP, 240V set-up will be better, around 10CFM. 5HP even better 15-16CFM...just a thought.

  4. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,357

    Plasma cutter air compressor question

    I already have this 5 HP two stage direct drive Atlas Copco with 66 gallon tank. 23 CFM. I might build a stand to elevate it 36” and slide the new storage tank below.



    I have three phase here on the farm.
    Last edited by Lis2323; 09-10-2019 at 09:04 PM.
    :

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    384

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    nice score
    storage is always good.

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    67

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    Quote Originally Posted by Lis2323 View Post
    I already have this 5 HP two stage direct drive Atlas Copco with 66 gallon tank. 23 CFM. I might build a stand to elevate it 36” and slide the new storage tank below.



    I have three phase here on the farm.
    Ok, gotcha! I was mistaken you for the OP about running that Kobalt compressor...BTW, that's a cool looking compressor. Direct-drive? Just about all of the ones I've seen are belt-drive...

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,357

    Plasma cutter air compressor question

    Quote Originally Posted by Strutaeng View Post
    Ok, gotcha! I was mistaken you for the OP about running that Kobalt compressor...BTW, that's a cool looking compressor. Direct-drive? Just about all of the ones I've seen are belt-drive...
    Thanks and yes.

    And my apologies to the OP. While obviously this tank is too big for him I was illustrating the point made by others that tanks from scrapped air compressors are out there and might be a viable solution.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    :

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    107

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    If I had the space I could consider making another 220v circuit. My only option right now is to add an extra portable tank if needed.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk

  9. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,357

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    As an example here’s one local to me for sale. (In Cdn dollars)

    https://www.usedvictoria.com/classif...34614843.lite?
    :

  10. #35

    Re: Plasma cutter air compressor question

    Quote Originally Posted by Lis2323 View Post
    I already have this 5 HP two stage direct drive Atlas Copco with 66 gallon tank. 23 CFM. I might build a stand to elevate it 36” and slide the new storage tank below.



    I have three phase here on the farm.
    I can see you are using truck air dryer, do you like it ?

    Sent from my SM-G610F using Tapatalk

  11. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,357

    Plasma cutter air compressor question

    Quote Originally Posted by Fang View Post
    I can see you are using truck air dryer, do you like it ?

    Sent from my SM-G610F using Tapatalk
    It works REALLY well but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it.




    Our farm mechanic at the time talked me into building and installing the system as he had previously made one for a large cabinet making shop with good results.

    It took a lot of labor, and general fooling around to get it to cycle and operate correctly. I’m not even certain of the circuitry.

    While it works well I would have been further ahead buying a correct sized refrigerated air dryer.

    The day the compressor dies I’m left with a pile of valves, relays, and other parts.




    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Lis2323; 09-12-2019 at 11:49 AM.
    :

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS | Home | Penton Media | Contact Us | Subscribe | For Advertisers | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement