frustrated by cast aluminum - MIG.
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

frustrated by cast aluminum - MIG.

First off, I'm an amateur. About as amateur as you can get. I'm a "gearhead" and I weld in my garage for personal projects on cars (and toys) I work on. I'm passable on steel and bar stock aluminum, but I'm trying to weld a cast intake manifold that is giving me fits. I'm new to trying to MIG cast aluminum.

My setup is:

a. Lincoln 180 mig - quick specs-

Input Power 208/230/1/60, Rated Output 208: 130A/17V/30% 230: 130A/20V/30%, Input Current 20A, Output Range 30-180 Amps DC, Solid Wire Size Range .025 - .035 in. (0.6 - 0.9 mm), Cored Wire Size Range .030 - .045 in. (0.8 - 1.2 mm), Wire Feed Speed Range 50-500 ipm WFS(1.3-12.7 m/min)

b. Spool gun

c. 100% Argon.

The "victim": 1994 Chevy LT1 intake manifold. Looks to be sand cast aluminum:

Name:  LT1 intake distributor conversion pics 11-29-2012 001 large.jpg
Views: 433
Size:  85.7 KB

Name:  C04C2A13-043E-4295-A26E-170742DB9B91.jpg
Views: 431
Size:  117.6 KB

I'm altering it to bolt on to a standard SBC. It's been done many times before so I'm not re-inventing the wheel here.

I've tried varying power settings, feed rates, stick out, travel speeds, gas flow rates and preheating the cast piece. The same result every time:makes blobs on the surface and cracks right off with a firm tap. Nothing ever resembles what would be called a bead. Just little turd balls all over the weld area. When it does look to have maybe stuck, I grind it down and the area looks like the surface of a golf ball (little pits or depressions):

Name:  8C758432-E3DF-4956-8095-870804049120.jpg
Views: 419
Size:  195.1 KB

So I assume that (somehow) I've still got contamination in the cast causing porosity or gas blowing it's way up through the weld.