New to flux welds
RSS | Subscribe | Contact Us | Advertise | About Us

New to flux welds

Hope everyone has had a good day. Im new here welded the first half of my adult life for a living. I was visiting my son a few years ago in NC he is in the Army. we were at Northern Tool and they had this Klutch 220 on the open box rack. I ran some power to my building a couple of weeks ago, and was playing around earlier. I'm new to flux core but the welder runs really smooth. Need to practice more this is 14Ga 035 Wire.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Re: New to flux welds

Looking good! What are you putting together?

Mikel

Those were just scraps figuring out some settings. But I'm about to start on a grader blade for my garden tractor. With a electric hydraulic cylinder. But I will tell ya this flux core confuses that crap out of me! on settings even the makers of the different wires. I don't think any of the makers are consistent. Take Lincoln for instance, Name:  innershieldnr-211-mp_top.jpg
Views: 220
Size:  124.0 KB notice 0.35 wire 200 IPM 18-19 volts, 155 amps, then look at 275IPM 20-21 gives the same amps??? not possible.
    Now go to Millers calculator, select 3/16 it gives 205-215 IMP, 190-220 amps, 15-16 volts? for 1/4 it gives 220-230 IPM 170-190 amps 15-16 volts???? That kind of stuff makes my head hurt LOL. Any real world ball bark help on settings with different metal thickness would be greatly appreciated! I am getting a bottle of co2 but i would really like to understand flux core-s better.

Why are you focusing on amps on a CV process?

To me (but I am nobody) it looks good, but maybe a little cold...
    Welds last longer than Love...

Walk straight and slow.If it doesn,t burn through----too cold

Quote Originally Posted by jdhacker View Post