+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Experienced Welder Needing Certs.

Post Thanks / Like

Experienced Welder Needing Certs.

I've been welding for over 15 years and I've never received any certifications. I've taken several tests and passed however the employer would never give me a copy of my certs. I have a good job lined up, all I need is a Aluminum Cert, and I'm good to go... Is there a way to get a test by myself and rent the equipment needed to take the test... There has to be a way I get can get this on my own, in a short period of time. School out of the question because I didn't finish High School. Any information would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Experienced Welder Needing Certs.

I'm in the DC area, Fredericksburg, VA

Post Thanks / Like

http://www.aws.org/w/a/certification/CW/

"The Certified Welder program is a performance-based program with no prerequisite courses or certifications required. Final certification will provide "transferrable" credentials that you may take with you wherever you go.
    The Certified Welder (CW) program test to procedures used in the structural steel, petroleum pipelines, sheet metal and chemical refinery welding industries. There is a provision to test to a company-supplied or non-code welding specification. Access the Accredited Test Facility to find a facility near you or call AWS at (800) 443-WELD, ext 273.

How do I "demonstrate" my skill?
    During your scheduled appointment at an AWS Accredited Test Facility, you will deposit a sound weld that will be inspected by an AWS Certified Welding Inspector (CWI). Your ability to properly adhere to the Welding Procedure Specification, selected from available QC7 Supplements, includes fit-up, assembly, and positioning.

What happens if I fail the test the first time?