+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Any slag chipping horror stories?

Post Thanks / Like

Any slag chipping horror stories?

As a novice welder I haven't seen as much as most of you. But obviously there are reasons we wear safety equipment. I've been wearing a fire resistant welding jacket (not leather), safety glasses, and my helmet.

Last night I was laying down a second pass of 7018 in an open root and after I ran the bead I grabbed my chipping hammer to remove the slag. Well I've noticed that the slag doesn't come off as easy when its on top of a 6010 bead in a deeper root. I flipped my helmet up and started tapping on the slag and a piece jumped off and went in my mouth! Lol. Not sure why my mouth was open enough to get slag in it. Regardless, it would've make a great YouTube video. I immediately tried to spit it out but my lips were somewhat paralyzed. I'm sure I looked like a total idiot. It was probably on my lips for only a second but it felt like a minute. My welding buddy in the stall next to me thought it was quite amusing once he realized I was okay. After about 10 minutes a blister developed on my lip. So for the rest of the evening I chipped slag with my helmet down. Haha.

Anyone else have more serious issues? Slag in the eye? Slag down your pants?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Any slag chipping horror stories?

Neighbor girl lost an eye. She just came in the shop when someone, her dad or hired hand, was chipping slag. Very unfortunate.
    Tim

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds goofy, but chapstick or some other lip balm will keep that 7018 slag from sticking to your lips. Maybe it's just me, but 7018 slag and teh silicon from solid wire seems drawn to that part of my face.
    Benson's Mobile Welding - Dayton, OH metro area - AWS Certified Welding Inspector

Post Thanks / Like

In high school welding (1986) I was wearing a synthetic material hockey jersey under my coveralls - piece of slag went down my shirt and melted it to my chest.

Burn #1 attributed to welding