+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New shop, and sizing a welding table

Post Thanks / Like

New shop, and sizing a welding table

Hey folks,

I've been lurking on here for a long time, following various threads and admiring some of the amazing work showcased. I'm a hobby welder and I've been out of workspace for a year after my father took back his shop. I've been working on building a new garage/shop next to my house, and need some advice about sizing a table for my needs and the size of the space.

The structure is relatively large for a residential two-car setup, it's roughly 28' wide x 27' deep. About 6' across the back is all dedicated storage, leaving a 28 x 22 space for my wife's minivan and my shop. So my space will be about 22 x 13, and be used for both my welding work (MIG, plasma, 14" bandsaw) and general rural home improvement (meaning wood workbench, vice, table and miter saws, storage for tools and nuts/bolts/screws/misc). The building will have a 100A panel, with one 50A circuit shared between the welder, plasma, and outlets for shop tools.

I don't need a massive table, but I've been imagining something around 60" x 30" x 1/2", with casters so I can move it around as needed, and leave room at that end for the welder/plasma equipment.

Any tips or advice on the space and table size appreciated!

Thanks,

--Steve
    Last edited by sivy; 01-06-2016 at 01:00 PM.
    ---
    Miller Millermatic 210
    Thermal Dynamics PakMaster 100XL Plus

Building a new garage/shop from the ground up...

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New shop, and sizing a welding table

Bigger the better. You won't ever complain that the table is too big. The length is a bit more important than the width, I often wish my table (5'x10') was longer, but the width is usually enough.

You can do wood work on a metal table, can't really do much welding on a wood table. You can alway throw a piece of plywood on top of the table if you need a wood surface.