+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Disgusted w/ my math capability, and i think i'm a welder.. pffft

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Thanks / Like

Angry Disgusted w/ my math capability, and i think i'm a welder.. pffft

I messed up in life and had to get a whole new career for myself. So i chose something that interested me, WELDING. The state of idaho agreed i needed a new 'career' and paid for 1yr of classes. Unfortunately, they picked a place that the guy had an 'issue' teaching women. He wasn't opposed to 'teaching' me, but God forbid i needed extra time with him for this/that..whatever. He basically got me thru the year with my MIG, FLUX, STICK cert, and some weld blueprints, and poof-out the door i went. Now i feel like a freaking moron because today i went to apply (weld test etc) at a fence machine shop, and when he asked me a simple math question-i froze up like a deer in headlights. Oh, make no mistake, i can weld real purty, i can swirl that bead, make it dance if ya want, but math????? pffffffffffffft... yeah, not so much. I have googled this and that, and ended up with 20 open tabs. I even tried my local library for a math/welder book. I need info on the RIGHT BOOK. I dont want to learn 'if sally traded jim 4 apples and 1 orange bullcrap'.. i want/need a REAL book on 'if you get 30 orders for backing bars, how many'..you get the idea. It's already bad enough im an older gal (45yr) trying to penetrate a man's world, much less looking like i dont know crap because of a math issue. I sure wish that dingleberry teacher of mine took me serious. ANY SUGGESTION?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Disgusted w/ my math capability, and i think i'm a welder.. pffft

Quote Originally Posted by igobyharris View Post