Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    190
    Post Thanks / Like

    New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Hey there SME's (Subject Matter Experts), I have a question about the "Ground". As an accomplished MIG'r, I know Grounding and power are is your best friend. I upgraded my Lincoln 180 to the HF brass ground clamp and I know it is a welding multiplier. Should I also use one for my Miller Maxstar 150 STL? It comes stock with the metal clamp. I appreciate any effort to answer this question.
    Bruce

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    5,599
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    a welding multiplier, Huh?

    Hmm,
    I need to get me a few of those.. HF you say?

    whats that?
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    190
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Welding Multiplier, It means that it helps welding significantly. I am prior military and I always think of "Combat Multiplier".. HF is Harbor Freight...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    5,599
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    At ease Soldier.
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,060
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    I say do it. It can't hurt. I have put those brass/bronze type clamps on all my welders. Some I have purchased from Maine Oxy and some from HF. I see no difference in the quality. I also have one of these flat ones. I don't like it as much http://www.airgas.com/p/RAD64002114?...4002116:nosale
    Syncrowave 250
    Purox Metalmaster

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    190
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Louie1961 View Post
    I say do it. It can't hurt. I have put those brass/bronze type clamps on all my welders. Some I have purchased from Maine Oxy and some from HF. I see no difference in the quality. I also have one of these flat ones. I don't like it as much http://www.airgas.com/p/RAD64002114?...4002116:nosale
    Louis1961,
    Thanks for the reply. Thanks for the link, I will get one. Oh and we are the same age...Me too 1961....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    5,599
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    I use magswitches on my Mig and stick ...... Love it!

    tig I still have the stock HTP clamp... it has copper inserts and works just fine.

    Name:  61ow4LiIG3L._SL1500_.jpg
Views: 266
Size:  46.2 KB
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    237
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Quote Originally Posted by John T View Post
    I use magswitches on my Mig and stick ...... Love it!

    I've never used a magnetic ground but I wonder if they could enhance arc blow with that magnetic field near the weld.
    Or do they counteract arc blow if put in the right spot.

    Eric
    Kemppi minarc 150
    Esab powercut 400

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,060
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    The only reason I don't use mag switches is welding aluminum or stainless, not that I weld a lot of either, but that thought has always been in the back of my mind
    Syncrowave 250
    Purox Metalmaster

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    5,599
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Louie1961 View Post
    The only reason I don't use mag switches is welding aluminum or stainless, not that I weld a lot of either, but that thought has always been in the back of my mind
    I only tig alum or SS thats why I kept the stock clamp on that machine... mig and stick is just steel.

    ET, I have NEVER experienced arc blow ... usually the mag is far enough away from the work.

    now magnetic 45's I HAVE got arc blow... usually when I'm using the magnet to hold something small to get a tack ...

    then all hell breaks loose...
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,060
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Oh and we are the same age...Me too 1961....
    Old as dirt!!
    Syncrowave 250
    Purox Metalmaster

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,060
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    mig and stick is just steel
    Yeah, my situation is a bit different. My stick machine is my TIG machine, and I am actively looking for a spool gun for my 252.
    Syncrowave 250
    Purox Metalmaster

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    In A Nice Comfy Chair
    Posts
    18,786
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Louie1961 View Post
    Old as dirt!!
    Still a kid....

    ...zap!


    I am not completely insane..
    Some parts are missing

    Professional Driver on a closed course....
    Do not attempt.

    Just because I'm a dumbass don't mean that you can be too.
    So DON'T try any of this **** l do at home.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Qatar
    Posts
    345
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    That's how my Magswitch looks like at the bottom, I suppose from never placing it on bright shiny metal. It works well though.








    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Miller Dynasty 280 DX TIGRunner
    Fronius Transsteel 2200

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Outside of Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,095
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    I’ve had the stock, stamped steel ground clamps get so hot with TIG work that the spring inside lost it’s tension. Like John, I use both mag switch and the higher quality cast bronze on all of my machines. Most of the time just the cast bronze though.
    Miller Trailblazer Pro 350D
    Miller Suitcase MIG
    Miller Spectrum 2050
    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Lincoln 210MP

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    966
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Louie1961 View Post
    The only reason I don't use mag switches is welding aluminum or stainless, not that I weld a lot of either, but that thought has always been in the back of my mind
    Maybe you could put a small plate of steel on a clamp or wire it to the small plate with short piece of wire. Clamp on the work and attach the mag to the steel plate.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,060
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Maybe you could put a small plate of steel on a clamp or wire it to the small plate with short piece of wire. Clamp on the work and attach the mag to the steel plate.
    Probably, but I am not sure I see the benefit. I like the ground clamps that I currently have. I am not sure the mag switch brings much advantage to my situation.
    Syncrowave 250
    Purox Metalmaster

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    190
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to TIG, Earth Ground Question

    Quote Originally Posted by scsmith42 View Post
    Iíve had the stock, stamped steel ground clamps get so hot with TIG work that the spring inside lost itís tension. Like John, I use both mag switch and the higher quality cast bronze on all of my machines. Most of the time just the cast bronze though.
    Yes I have one of the magnetic ones. I bought it to use in a area where I cant really get to to clean. Ok thank you, I will get the Brass one today. Thanks all for the responses..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,606,667,249.18945 seconds with 14 queries