Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Angry Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Hello guys
    I have a brand new miller xmt 400 (xmt 304 equivalent for 400v systems) that has no output voltage in electrode hot modes, everything else checks fine but the voltmeter on the machine is reading (.0) ?
    I have the techincal manual for the 304 which basically the same and I did all the tests in the book and everything checks out alright, but no open circuit voltage! Name:  IMG_20190201_171516_064.jpg
Views: 209
Size:  60.4 KB
    I am an electrical engineer and I have a business where I fix various industrial electric machines and I have fixed a couple of millers before but miller is not common here due to their extremely high price.
    The weird thing is that the owner of the machine is a dealer and has three more brand new machines of the same model that have the same problem?!
    I have not tried to weld with it because I do not have the cables for now but even without the cables it should output an open circuit voltage.
    I don't know what more I can do after following the technical manual to the letter and everything is normal, do any of you guys have any idea what is going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NW ON Canada
    Posts
    3,453
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Brand new machines and none of them work?
    Sounds like the machines are not wired properly for the voltage theyíre being used on?
    Jason
    Lincoln Idealarc 250 stick/tig
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52
    Miller Bobcat 250
    Torchmate CNC table
    Thermal Arc Hefty 2
    Ironworkers Local 720

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    n.w. of chicago
    Posts
    873
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Brand new=bring back

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    unfortunately i am being told that taking the machine back is not an option, so we are trying our best to make them work. As for the voltage, they are rated for 400v 50hz, says so on the machine itself and in the manual.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NW ON Canada
    Posts
    3,453
    Post Thanks / Like

    Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    These arenít cheap welding machines. If they are in fact wired properly for your input power, they need to be returned as they are still under warranty.
    To me, itís a big time red flag that you have several brand new machines and you canít get any of them to work.
    All of the 304 and 350 XMTís Iíve seen or used were either strictly a 575v 3 phase machine or a 208-575v single or 3 phase machine.
    Last edited by snoeproe; 02-01-2019 at 05:58 PM.
    Jason
    Lincoln Idealarc 250 stick/tig
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52
    Miller Bobcat 250
    Torchmate CNC table
    Thermal Arc Hefty 2
    Ironworkers Local 720

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    I do not know what is going on with the dealer really but i also told them exactly that. Anyway this is from the manual where it says 400v
    Name:  IMG_1584.jpg
Views: 159
Size:  185.7 KB
    I have been thinking about this for over a week now, i have checked everything, it has become something of a personal challenge if you will, what could it be?!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orange, TX
    Posts
    17,407
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Switch the V/A CONTROL to PANEL.
    MM200 w/Spoolmatic 1
    Syncrowave 180SD
    Bobcat 225G Plus - LP/NG
    MUTT Suitcase Wirefeeder
    WC-1S/Spoolmatic 1
    HF-251D-1
    PakMaster 100XL
    '68 Red Face Code #6633 project
    Star Jet 21-110

    Save Second Base!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Quote Originally Posted by duaneb55 View Post
    Switch the V/A CONTROL to PANEL.
    I did of course, i even connected a remote and the same thing happens, when you switch on the remote the voltmeter reads 0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orange, TX
    Posts
    17,407
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Time to call Miller Customer Service.
    MM200 w/Spoolmatic 1
    Syncrowave 180SD
    Bobcat 225G Plus - LP/NG
    MUTT Suitcase Wirefeeder
    WC-1S/Spoolmatic 1
    HF-251D-1
    PakMaster 100XL
    '68 Red Face Code #6633 project
    Star Jet 21-110

    Save Second Base!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,677
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    Definitely Call miller tech support. explain who you are and what your training is.
    And your dealer is no help. They can tell you where another shop might be to help you.
    If none are available they might be willing to work with you.
    Problem with the welder could be either the the front panel or the control.
    You will have to measure the ribbon cable. find the common and signal wire that has the welder output voltage "on" signal . The welder my need a complete prepower test to make sure the IGBT's are not shorted. A repair shop would start there, then use an IGBT tester to see if the IGBT's are working. Then apply power and check voltages on the ribbon cable.
    You have tried to measure the out put terminals and I assume they are zero volts.
    When in the orange zones, the display should flash back and forth between set voltage and actual voltage. the other zone should read set voltage and change when you move the knob
    If you are getting zero all the time and never any voltage numbers. Front panel is suspect.
    Normally Miller will not let the owner install any parts under warranty or give parts warranty on self installed parts. But if you can get the miller rep involved for your area. maybe he can help you and keep the warranty intact.
    Last edited by ccawgc; 02-05-2019 at 02:19 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,745
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller xmt 400 no output problem

    I would try and weld with it and see if it is actually working and if V display works while welding. In stick mode I bet that v display changes to amps and only shows any amperage when there is amperage during welding. Why would stick mode show voltage? I would guess the amp display shows what the amps are set at and the V display shows amps while welding. keep in mind that I have only used an XMT 304 and never looked at it other than to set my amps and just welded with it.
    Last edited by thegary; 02-05-2019 at 10:32 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,607,102,911.82598 seconds with 12 queries