+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Affordable stick welder recommendation for basic welding for hobby

Post Thanks / Like

Affordable stick welder recommendation for basic welding for hobby

I make wooded tables and usually end up buying metal legs for them but I'm sick of waiting (2-4 weeks) and paying for someone else to do it so I'm thinking of just getting a stick welding and doing it myself. Some questions though, as I'm completely new to welding.

Looking at something like this: https://www.homedepot.com/p/AMICO-PO...-165/304254631

Name:  kat76-02-full3.jpg.image.169x250.jpg
Views: 725
Size:  2.8 KB

1.) Most legs are 1-2" square tubing with some kind of panel on top to screw it into the table. I'm assuming that the stick welding can handle this without any issues? Is this metal easy to find and affordable?

2.) My shop only has 50 amps coming into it, I can barely run a table saw and dust collector so I'm worried about running a welder in there. I can run another 240v outlet but I would probably have to keep it to 30 amps to leave room for lights etc. Is this fine, does this change what type of welding I can get?

3.) To get started, I have this shopping list. What else should I get? Welder, sticks, mask, gloves, grinder.

4.) Since I would be doing this in my wood shop where there are often shavings etc should I be concerned about sparks causing a fire? I can always do it outside I guess.

5.) I want it mostly for table legs but I'm assuming once I see it in action I'll find other uses for it. Some other projects I can think of are various tables for my tools, wood racks, shelfs, etc. I'm assuming a basic stick welding would work for this basic stuff too, right?

6.) Is there anything I'm not asking that I should be asking? What am I missing about this hobby that I should know?

Thanks!
    Last edited by detz; 05-21-2019 at 11:37 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Affordable stick welder recommendation for basic welding for hobby