Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TIG welder recommendation for 0.025" 6061 aluminum? Eastwood TIG 200 AC/DC?

Post Thanks / Like

TIG welder recommendation for 0.025" 6061 aluminum? Eastwood TIG 200 AC/DC?

Hello,

I'm a hobbyist from just outside Detroit, MI and new to the forum.
    I am hoping for some help with my (pretty frustrating) problem. A part of the issue is that I am not sure if I'm the problem or if I have the wrong machine.

I own a Eastwood TIG 200 AC/DC welder. Even though I'm a beginner my welds on steel look IMHO just fine.
    Running beads on aluminum also works kind of OK, compared to pictures I see online, the beads however look pretty dull and grainy. I tried different balance settings, however without ever getting shiny beads.

Of course, I spend HOURS practicing, reading through forums and watching videos on Youtube, but still can't find a solution.

When I tried welding pieces of 0.063" 6061-t6 aluminum together, I however didn't have much success: The edges had a strong tendency to pull away, I had a hard time forming a puddle across both pieces and the 4043 filler didn't really want to flow. I also tried 0.090" material but with not much better results.

Ultimately, I want to weld a thin walled tank, for which the plans ask to weld 0.025" 6061-t6 aluminum:
    Name:  Weld.png
Views: 564
Size:  31.3 KB

This is what it is supposed to look like:
    Name:  fullsizeoutput_8ca.jpg
Views: 570
Size:  64.2 KB

I know that other builders, who didn't have much / any experience with TIG welding, successfully built the tanks as per the plans. I am however not even remotely able to weld this thin aluminum.

Sadly, I don't know any experienced welder who could give my machine a try or teach me in case I'm doing something entirely wrong.

Anyways - does somebody have experience with the Eastwood TIG 200 welder?
    i'd also appreciate a recommendation for a TIG welder that is known to be suitable to weld such thin 6061 aluminum.

Oliver