+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first beads with stick welding

Post Thanks / Like

My first beads with stick welding

Hello! My name is Ian, I just decided to learn welding, mostly to do some bodywork on my car in the future. I bought a 130A welding machine, which does stick, "gasless MIG" and MIG welding. I heard that MIG welding is easier to learn than stick, but I felt like I'd be cheating if I went straight to MIG.

Since the machine arrived I haven't found much scrap metal besides a 2.25mm thick pipe, so I tried to run some beads on it. I had 3 rod types: A single 3.25mm 6013, some 2mm "J422" rods that came with the machine and 2.5mm 6013 rods I bought.

The 2mm J422 rods, which doesn't even have the specification written on it, felt like they were very bad quality. I'm a total beginner, but in comparison with the other two rods it was harder to strike an arc with it, it stuck often and splattered a lot more (using about 70-80A). The 3.25mm 6013 was easier to handle, but since the pipe is very thin I had to increase the speed of travel a lot to avoid making a hole (using about 110A). The 2.5mm 6013 was also easier to handle (settings at about 90A).

Right now it's still not easy to strike an arc precisely and cleanly. I also still need to practice lowering the rod while it's consumed, since a few times I cut the arc before I was done because I forgot to lower the rod. And I definitely need to find some thick metal plate. I think I'll do better if I don't have to be worried about welding through the material and can take my time with working the bead.

3.25mm 6013
    Name:  IMG_3477.jpg
Views: 931
Size:  45.8 KB

2.5mm 6013
    Name:  IMG_3524.jpg
Views: 930
Size:  67.8 KB

J422 (just as a comparison, it looks ugly)
    Name:  IMG_3525.jpg
Views: 919
Size:  79.1 KB