+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Welding Machines

Post Thanks / Like

Welding Machines

Good afternoon,

I'm looking to buy my first welding. I learned to weld stick and oxy through the Ag college I attend, but I have yet to own my own machine. We used large old millers when practicing. I know this topic is beating a dead horse, but i have been sifting through information for about a week now and I see an overall consensus that the brands to stick to are Lincoln, Hobart, miller, and ESAB. I'm currently working on fixing an exhaust system in my truck as well as welding a new floor pan for an old 77 nova. This being Said I know I generally need a lower amperage machine for such thin work. I can weld thin sheet metal on 6013 sticks so I'm not afraid to weld any of it with sticks that being said I'm also still open to mig/learning a mig.

Are there any recommended machines for around $500 or less in this price range? I'm no professional welder and don't have to worry to much on the duty cycle or even longevity of the welder I'm also still in college and pay my through college so cost is a large factor as you can imagine. I plan on upgrading and getting a much better welder once out of college when I can properly save money to get a decent multi process machine. So this isn't the kind I plan on having for a life time, though if one exists in this price range I wouldn't be apposed.

I'm just looking for advice from those who have been there with so many welders on the market what would be recommended for this purpose? (also I'm in Georgia and it's rather hard to find a used welder for a decent price no one seems to be letting em go. Even old Lincoln tombstones are going for $300)
    Last edited by Pat295; 04-18-2020 at 11:05 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Welding Machines

Hi Pat.

Where in Georgia are you? I’m in NW Ga and see decent used MIG welders on CL fairly regularly. Here’s one just across TN state line that seems like a reasonable price.