Thread: Weld 3mm thick Aluminum Cylinder with Aluminum Plate 400mm height

Post Thanks / Like

Weld 3mm thick Aluminum Cylinder with Aluminum Plate 400mm height

Dear Fellows,

I have an Aluminum Cylinder 390mm in diameter and an aluminum plate 80mm in width and both has 400mm height and 3mm thick.

I am a designer, my knowledge on welding is limited.
    Important for me is to keep the Plate straight while welding it to cylinder.

Please assist me with as much information you may have on following doubts and any more info that you may provide.

Name:  Al Weld Details.PNG
Views: 194
Size:  56.3 KB

Fillet weld or spot welding?
    Intermittent welding and not continuous, right?
    TIG preferred, correct?
    Filler rod minimum diameter?
    Thickness, length of weld? distance between to welds?

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Regards,
    Win_iT

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Weld 3mm thick Aluminum Cylinder with Aluminum Plate 400mm height

Need some more info. to give some suggestions. What are you designing? What grade of aluminum? How many are you making, 1 or 100's? Does the internal bore have to perfectly smooth? Do you want a weld showing or do want a clean appearance? The more details you can provide the better suggestions you'll get. It's like saying you need tires for a vehicle but not saying what you're using the vehicle for or the terrain you'll be driving in.
    Last edited by Welder Dave; 05-23-2020 at 03:35 PM.

3. Likes Win_iT liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Dave for replying.
    I typed in details, but it said, character limit reached.
    Name:  Al Weld Details2.PNG
Views: 153
Size:  31.2 KB