Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cheap Plasma Cutters: Are They Worth It?

Post Thanks / Like

Cheap Plasma Cutters: Are They Worth It?

I'm just getting started. I have a Lincoln ProMIG 180 and that's it. The next step is to purchase a 4x8 sheet of 1/4-inch plate steel, cut it into 2-inch by 6-inch pieces, and start practicing. I have a 50-amp 220 volt power outlet. My next purchase will be a plasma cutter. eBay lists dozens of 50-amp models for around $200. Normally, I don't bother with the cheap stuff, but this time, it's 1/10 the cost of a new Hypertherm. So, what will be the difference in quality? Is it cutting quality? Or is it durability? Something else? Will I regret buying the $200 model?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Cheap Plasma Cutters: Are They Worth It?

why a plasma cutter? If all you are doing is cutting coupons, then get this: https://www.milwaukeetool.com/Produc...r-Saws/6370-20

Also those are going to be some pretty expensive coupons. If you some decent, cheap coupons, look here. Order them 10 at a time and it is much cheaper. https://www.jflf.org/ProductDetails....ductCode=METAL
    Syncrowave 250
    Purox Metalmaster

Post Thanks / Like

Why not just buy some 1/4"x2" flat bar and cut the lengths you need. I wouldn't buy a plasma cutter just to cut coupons. A porta band , 4x6" bandsaw, chop saw even a grinder with cutting discs will accomplish the vast majority of cutting.

4. Likes Lis2323 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

It will be hit, and miss with the $200 units.. Most will have somewhat ragged cut in anything above 3/16/,250 MS. Don't get me wrong on cheap units, but one step above can be worlds away in cut quality/etc..
    Esab/Lorch ET-220i
    Esab 160i caddy
    Thermal LM-200 Lincoln feeders
    Thermal Pee-Wee 85s
    Thermal 60i- 3phase /RPC powered (Beast)
    Thermal Drag-gun 35C
    INE 1500
    Klutch 140i

Post Thanks / Like