+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Acetylene vs LPG

Post Thanks / Like

Acetylene vs LPG

Hey all 👋

I did a search but not much came up, even though I’m sure this has been done to death

I’m looking at buying a new oxy kit. I mostly use it for cutting 1/4-1” and pre heat if material requires it. Occasionally for back yard mechanics too lol

I have been using oxy/ace for the last 10 years and have no experience with oxy/lpg

What are the pros or cons as far as work goes, even brazing and welding? ( I’ll figure out the price differences on my end being in Australia)

Either way I’ll be going with a Harris kit

Thanks
    Serg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Acetylene vs LPG

Propane is cheaper but uses more oxygen so just comparing fuel gas cost is not accurate. Propane can be used for brazing but not for welding. Welding requires a true neutral flame with equal parts acetylene and oxygen. Propane uses 2-3 times the oxygen of acetylene. Propane takes a little longer to preheat and generally (not always) uses 2 piece cutting tips that are a little harder to clean. For preheating with a heating tip propane has the advantage that you don't have to worry about withdrawal limits the same as you do with acetylene. It would be good to check on the availability of different types of tips for propane vs acetylene.

Post Thanks / Like

Propane requires different hoses.
    I would suggest Smith or Victor set if going with acetylene. Made in USA. $232.62

https://www.weldersupply.com/P/317/S...eteMediumDutyO

https://www.weldersupply.com/P/1418/...hcutpropaneout

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post