+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hood for TIG welding aluminum? Crystal 2.0, e684, Lincoln 3550, Miller Digital Elite

Post Thanks / Like

Hood for TIG welding aluminum? Crystal 2.0, e684, Lincoln 3550, Miller Digital Elite

I am planning to learn how to TIG weld, mild steel and aluminum. I have some experience MIG welding automotive stuff, but totally new to TIG. I am wondering if the Crystal 2.0 will be usable for TIG welding aluminum? I am concerned that Crystal 2.0 only goes up to shade 12, and with TIG being pretty bright I was wondering if it will not be dark enough. I am also considering Optrel e684, Lincoln Viking 3550 and Miller Digital Elite. Cost is not a consideration. I want the best helmet and I am ok if it's the most expensive option on this list.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hood for TIG welding aluminum? Crystal 2.0, e684, Lincoln 3550, Miller Digital El

Quote Originally Posted by juha_teuvonnen View Post
    Cost is not a consideration. I want the best helmet and I am ok if it's the most expensive option on this list.
    Then do some research and you'll find out that there are many people using the Crystal 2.0 for tig welding.

Sounds like you have too much money to burn.

Tell me, where are the rich folks located at? You don't have a location on your post.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hood for TIG welding aluminum? Crystal 2.0, e684, Lincoln 3550, Miller Digital El

Read this thread and post 20. He went to 350 amps welding aluminum using the Crystal 2.0.

https://weldingweb.com/vbb/showthrea...-Hood-Question

Then look at the videos in post #24.
    Millermatic 252 MIG
    Miller Dynasty 200DX TIG
    Altas 12x36 Metal Lathe
    Bridgeport Milling Machine
    Arclight Dynamics 4x8 plasma table
    www.psacustomcreations.com

4. Likes juha_teuvonnen liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Fix shade for tig. Cheap and call it a day. I only use my auto stuff for MIG.
    www.tjsperformance.com
    Dynasty 300 DX
    HTP 240
    HTP Microcut 380
    Hyperthem 85